Welcome to Hippyland


Main Menu
· Home
 · Login
 · Register
 · Hip Chat
 · Articles
 · Reviews
 · Surveys
 · Topics
 · Videos
 · Photo Galleries
 · Hippie Havens
 · Hip Quotes
 · Hip Glossary
 · Event Calendar
 · Submit Article
 · Submit Review
 · Recommend Hippy.com
 · Advertise on Hippy.com

Search

Search:

In:


Categories Menu
· All Categories
· A Trip Thru the '60s
· Archives
· Ask The Old Hippy
· Columns
· Hip Profiles
· Hippies From A to Z
· Hippyland Tour
· Interviews
· Letters to Hippyland
· Links
· News
· Reviews
· Skip's Corner

New Articles
· How Saving Water Helps Reduce Global Warming
· Cannabis in Alchemical Literature
· A Call to Elder Stoners: Your Job has Just Begun
· UN, Natives And Hippies Unite To Save The World
· The Beyond Prohibition Foundation
· Peoples Revolution
· Hippie Drum (free ebook)
· Book from Roger Rea: Hipppies never die
· Comedy, Cocaine and Cable TV
· Hippie Songs Invade Texas Cowboy Country

[ More in News Section ]

 

Big Island, Hawaii

Lots of growers here. Scene is low key and laid back. Communes around. The hippies are all in the Puna District mainly in the Pahoa area from Kalapana to Pahoa and from Pahoa over to Volcano, although some hangout in the Kona district.

Added: December 8th 2001
Category: Place
Location: Hawaii

Hits: 58325

  
[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by kelly on 2013-03-15 22:32:49
hey everyone, my boyfriend and i are looking to start a new adventure in Hawaii. We both have never been but have heard great things about it. We're moving from Tahoe City, California and was wondering were two twenty somethings could live the true Hawaii life. We'd be coming down with a backpack and our sense of adventure. Would also be awesome if any one knew of the job scene out there please email back @ mpenrod1515@gmail.com 

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by lennybeachboy on 2012-09-18 21:30:17
Early Retire (62) Social Security .  Looking To  Relocate Big Island (Hilo) Area ... Any Advise From Other Haoles , As To Where Is Best ? Hilo , Puna , Pahoa OR ???? Thank You ...

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by Tom on 2012-05-07 06:01:07
I lived in Honollu for most of the 1990's and on occasion would get over to the Big Island for a visit, Hilo seemed like a rather old fashioned town with not too much to do there and rather wet, seems like it was always raining, Kona was much dryer but still a rather boring place ! Are the different races getting along ? Heard about a racist attack on a group of 9 White teenagers  few years ago by some Hawaiian locals there on the Big Island, racism was alive and well in Honolulu as I was well aware of doing security work at the Honolulu zoo !

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by coz_h on 2011-08-09 07:10:07   My Score:
If your moving to Hilo, Hawaii and your coming from a trashy shit-hole city on the mainland, then your gonna think this place really is paradise, but for me coming from a city that ranked in the top 10 in the world, Hilo is a total dump and really has nothing going for it, in fact Hilo seems to attract losers and is a great place to come live if your a loser and don't want any amount of success in your life. As for me I will be happy when I leave.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by nakedwar on 2011-04-17 21:13:46
Hello... my wife and I are looking at moving to the Big Island. We plan to take a trip over and explore our options as far as locations go. Ideally it would be great to get a place with a 2 bedroom, 1 bath house on approx. 2-5 acres not too far from shopping, the coast, etc. We don't want to live in an area where there are too many people and we want to stay away from the element of speed-users that I hear exist over there. Having only visited Maui we are unfamiliar with the Big Island and would greatly appreciate any comments/advice. Please reply to nakedwar@aol.com

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by JACOB TREE on 2010-07-19 05:10:29
hi looking for ilands vacation on the cheap, clean decent easygoing. wanna play me drum and chill, swim in the ocean and see if i wanna stay.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by Olivia Ma on 2010-01-04 17:42:24
Anyone heard about the new Land development project in Big Island called " The Villages of Aina Le'a Hawaii " a project combine villa & government house together ? Please Help......

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by weirdpothead on 2009-10-07 20:18:25
I am moving to Honolulu, Hawaii in November of this year 2009. I worked in the restaurant industry for 12 years and as a custodian for public Schools for 3 1/2 years. I collect social security now for diabetes and a crooked ankle that has gotten worse over the years. I am moving because i haev had so much resentment from my employers for putting in long hard hours to help their business thrive and i think it time to retire. I am a 29 year old man. I dont say young man cuz my body says I'm old. I suspect its mainly the diabetes. I would like to know some hints of tips about the area, also maybe some cheap places to live. Remembe i am on a very fixed income, maybe I can find some light duty work when I get over there. Does anyone have a good place i could pitch a tent. i love to camp out unde the stars and enjoy the outdoors very much. Maybe some one has a spare room or spot on the floor that i could occupy for a few months tro figure out my situtation. I am pretty cool with everything. I could spare a small amount for rent until I can figure out how much money i will be receiving in Hawaii. If anyone has any suggestions or a place i could crash please, email me...... djdustin1981@yahoo.com. i would really much appreciate any1 getting back to me. Email: djdustin1981@yahoo.com

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by Savanah on 2009-09-03 04:23:22
Hello! I am moving with my partner to The big island the 1st of november and would need help advice on employment. if anyone would like to help. My e-mail is Tsavanah@aol.com. Thanks much!

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by Kisses on 2009-08-06 11:04:30
Is Michelle still with Mike Newman on their plot of land close to Mountain View ,Hawaii?

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by hawaiian_gurl on 2009-07-24 20:15:38
if you must say hoale /hoales =remember it dont mean .Foreigner duhhh it means w/o breath or breathless .as hawaiians used to greet each other.nose to nose taking in one anothers breaths .as for moving here do you really really want a life sentence of being and staying broke lol.then leaching all around the place where police will kick you out of the area .think akamai=smart and not lolo=crazy ..and please dont think you can come here and boss locals around .big no no even if you call the cops on them lol someone in the police task is bound to be part of their family .something like dis .as my uncles wifes cousain nephew.and yeahh he wrok dea for like 10 yrs .awweee he not going bust me haha . yes so if your ready for hawaii ? stack ur cash cause ur gonna need it .if not be prepared to be called a squatah or leech .(just telling it like it is )

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by chewy on 2009-06-24 13:02:39
I would like to say now is the time to buy in Hawaii on the big island you can get 3 acres for anywere from 45000 to 89000 with nice cabins from 45000 to nice homes for 89000 but you can buy nice homes for 150,000 anyway I am buying 3 acres with a small cabin about 400sqft and I am going to build a dome home out of steel and lava rock you buy the frame from www.pacificdomes.com and they are about 5000 but you need to build it anyway you want out of canvas or wood or hay and gunite or just chicken wire and cement like adobe homes. I like the Hippy scene lots of musicians and artist in Puna. I dont like the VOG but I guess its just something you have to deal with like LA smog I live in Edmonds Washington no smog just great fresh air. so I will stay in hawaii for a few weeks at a time I cant afford to live there full time yet if you need the hook up in Hawaii and need someone to show you around when you get to the big island email me at chewlyons at yahoo. com and we can talk about easy living on the big island with low price homes if you just need a small lot you can find them for 6000 to 100,000 so 6000 and build a small cabin or go to home depot and but a shed put a sink in it and hook two or three sheds together and you have a small house. Aloha chewy

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by Randy J on 2008-02-24 09:40:02
For Lafever I lived on the big island in the upper puna area for 7 years about 15 years ago. I dont think things have changed that much except probably more speed, higher land prices and a general deterioration as has happened everywhere else. For 120 grand you could set yourself up very nicely especially if you are willing to do much of the work yourself. If you're talking yurt, you could probably build the biggest one in Hawaii. Basically what the deal is you buy an undeveloped lot and improve it yourself. Depending on your preferences you can get anything from having everything, power, water service, cable etc. In rural areas you still have to have your own cesspool. I have seen some very nice homes built without power, water etc. It rains enough so that you collect water off your roof into a catchment, usually a covered, large round plastic swimming pool. Rainwater is very clean but you do need to watch your catchment that it does not get contaminated. People use usally a generator, solar or a combination with battery storage for power and run 12 volt everything. Dont need heat. Most of the lots are lava rock, some are rock with some dirt. Some people come in and clear everything, build their house, landscape etc. The nicest places imho were the people who bought a lot with some trees, some open space and only cleared an area large enough for their house and did their landscaping around the existing trees. Some folks only bought their lot, put up a tent, and built it up over the years. Some came right in, hired a builder, and had a home within a few months. When I was there there was talk of enforcing the building codes but it seems that they still are pretty loose. To repeat you could do very nicely with 120 grand. My own preference would be upper puna, but you might prefer lower puna. Different culture. Lower puna was more the natural food type people with upper puna being more the rock and roll type. As is true anywhere else some subdivisions have more crime than others. That is not to say that you need to buy in the pricier areas. Many of the less expensive areas are just fine. If you've never been there it does take a while to adjust to the culture. Some haoles are never accepted and others kind of stop being haoles after awhile. BTW haole is not in itself derogatory. It means foreigner. The trouble is that so many foreigners have done so much harm there is substantial mistrust. I would go over there look around, talk to some people, and see for yourself what is possible. Best Wishes Randy J.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by LaFever on 2008-02-11 17:54:07
Building in Hawaii I have been looking for the least expensive way to obtain comfortable housing in Hawaii. My search for housing under the 120,000 has turned up some interesting issues. First one is properties for sell that does not have septic or electric and is not permitted. My interest lies in what is legal and what I can in reality get by with. There seems to be some lack of enforcement of building permits and occupation of property. The next thing that I see is that they tell you that they will take you through the steps for getting the permits. If it is that easy then why have they not already done it? I am also considering constructing a Yurt. So I am seeking information on: Can you build a place for yourself without having a contractor’s license and get necessary permits? What permits are required? Are Architectural drawing required? What is involved with getting septic and electric? What type of ground issues do you have? What about the collection of rain water? How does this work? Are there restrictions in the developments? What are the best areas to build a simple home or Yurt? What are other Issues do I need to be aware of? Lave flows, no roads, excreta? Any information will be greatly appreciated.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by Bill Mc on 2008-01-26 09:27:02
Hey over there on the Big Island. I need a big island location to produce a full length cinema for internt distribution. It is a WWII story taking place on an island in the South Pacific in 1944. No sets not structures just a beach line. I have a long history in production and recall that there used to be a clan of production people in the islands that were always working on getting production for the islands. I'd like to work with all local production folks over there. Can anyone fill me in on the feature production crew scene over there? mc@ciniweb.com

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by Ishan on 2007-10-09 02:20:59
hi Nathan. I saw your posting regarding building something, a yurt or something else and I can help you do something along those lines. I'm a builder and have built a number of structures which are very sustainable meaning low energy to heat/cool and very long lasting. Also affordable to build. If you're still interested in building drop me an email at pepperananda@yahoo.com. I'm in Los Angeles right now but will soon be on the Big Island of Hawaii. Blessings. Ishan

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by Scot on 2007-07-20 03:19:48
Going to the Big Island for vacation soon. Any ideas where to go for scmoke?

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by SteveRussell1979@yahoo.co on 2007-06-20 02:21:46   My Score:
Hellow every one, Lots of questions beeing asked so much appreciation for any response to this.. Been thinking alot about where I am and how the path I've been traveling ( job, stress,Location of home) down these last few years has deff. going againts my , well,Soul and personality.You see, I'm a water loving , nature living, fun loving, and just basicly need others to be happy around me as well ya know.....I have lived in Florida my hole life now,I'm 28 by the way... Oh By the way I have captains license and to run boats like nature charters would be the Tits !!! Well any wayzzz,,,,, I guess my qustion is , can any one assist in some good advise. you see i,,,, I got to get the heck out of here.O'm going crazy with the same old same old dreams and expectations of what every one else seams to think happyness is made of..Money and posetions of things that make you a slave to a job you dont like and a life you realy feel traped in just to pay for such things.. I need to remain in the water to be.........Just to be alive, weather fishing, diving, surfing what ever..... I need to see the Ocean and live inthe mountains, Thats right !!!This Florida boy loves me sum Mountains...... Ha, ha !!!!! Well I have let this go on a little too long so let me get to the Question i wanted to ask I want to move to Hawaii...... I know, I know, Your thinking ,,,,,Thats It!! Well you see for me, It would be the bigest thing, Change, Journy, of my life,And well a little help would be, Well, A true Testament to what we all need in life. Help from Brothers and sisters..... Any advise on an easier way to get to The Big Island or what you might think is a better choice, then having to set at my job that is going to kill me for a nother couple of years trying to save money to make a comfortable move that will probibly never hapen if I keep waiting??????????????????????????????????????????????????? THank for listning

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by Steve Russell on 2007-06-20 01:56:22   My Score:
Hellow every one, Lots of questions beeing asked so much appreciation for any response to this.. Been thinking alot about where I am and how the path I've been traveling ( job, stress,Location of home) down these last few years has deff. going againts my , well,Soul and personality.You see, I'm a water loving , nature living, fun loving, and just basicly need others to be happy around me as well ya know.....I have lived in Florida my hole life now,I'm 28 by the way... Well any wayzzz,,,,, I guess my qustion is , can any one assist in some good advise. you see i,,,, I got to get the heck out of here.O'm going crazy with the same old same old dreams and expectations of what every one else seams to think happyness is made of..Money and posetions of things that make you a slave to a job you dont like and a life you realy feel traped in just to pay for such things.. I need to remain in the water to be.........Just to be alive, weather fishing, diving, surfing what ever..... I need to see the Ocean and live inthe mountains, Thats right !!!This Florida boy loves me sum Mountains...... Ha, ha !!!!! Well I have let this go on a little too long so let me get to the Question i wanted to ask I want to move to Hawaii...... I know, I know, Your thinking ,,,,,Thats It!! Well you see for me, It would be the bigest thing, Change, Journy, of my life,And well a little help would be, Well, A true Testament to what we all need in life. Help from Brothers and sisters..... Any advise on an easier way to get to The Big Island or what you might think is a better choice, then having to set at my job that is going to kill me for a nother couple of years trying to save money to make a comfortable move that will probibly never hapen if I keep waiting??????????????????????????????????????????????????? THank for listning

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by rewolf on 2007-06-07 03:13:31   My Score:
Lived in Maui back in the late 70's and from what i've seen, there's no going back to that. It's mostly hotel land. I have always wanted to go back just to show my kids where I grew up and the pidgin gets as fresh as evah when i get talking with the locals but it will never be the place where a little haole keiki can hang out. I remeber the only thing saved my life was the big smoan family that i was friends with and even then i got beat up every kill haole day, and i still want to go visit! it is a beautiful world but no paradise. after living on the grey beaches of california and the snowy slopes of colorado I still would trade for Kihei if i could at all afford it.Pele has branded my heart forever.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by Regina on 2007-05-29 03:59:51
Hello everyone!! I'm a 15 year old girls from Mexico city. I found this page looking for campers, vans etc... hopefully I'll live in one when I'm old enough. I want to live in one cause y think there are a million things to see in this world and I happen to think that having a mobil home is the best way to do it. I did get this idea from stuff i've seen on hippies. Like many peolple I hate levels and hate being called a hippie. I think they are incredible and admire them but I like to be called by my name and nothing ealse. Anyway...I'm going to a boarding school in Hawaii (2007-2008) to get away from the city, stress, problems, etc. Please, if you read this tell me places I can visit or things I can do when I get there that you think are worth it. Thank you! P & L!

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by Danielle on 2007-05-22 01:33:30
My name is Danielle. I'm a Casting Producer for ABC's Primetime show, "Wife Swap." We're gearing up for a fourth season at the moment and we're currently looking for unique and dynamic families who have a laid back approach to life. In case you're unfamiliar with the show, the premise of "wife Swap" is that one parent from each household swaps places for a week to experience how another family lives. It's an incredible family experience and opportunity to both learn and teach different ways of living. If you think your family would be perfect for the show or you know of another great family, please email me at Danielle.Gervais@rdfusa.com Hope to hear from you soon! Danielle Gervais Danielle.Gervais@rdfusa.com Danielle.Gervais@rdfnewyork.com

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by czydiamond on 2007-02-13 09:59:45
Lived in upper Puna during late 80's and early 90's. I got there just after The mayor said that growers were some of his best friends and Pu'u O'o was spouting fire. Brought from the mainland little money and a big drinking habit. Drank too much to grow too much, drinking lots and hard work don't go together and successfully growing is LOTs of work. Ran into the racism but found that if you are willing to learn the customs, respect the people and give back a bit you can get along pretty well with most anyone. When I first got there you could buy land really cheap but by the time I had to leave the prices were rising fast with no end in sight. Crank was rearing its ugly head. I left in 1992 because my probation officer had violated me for smoking, he did not care too much about drinking, but I did not feel like going to jail for a year. I used to hitchhike at times, lived way back off the main roads but could always get a ride out and back in with my beer or vodka. Always had a number or two to share. or a beer. Once I got picked up by an 80 year old man and his wife. I just loved the place. Kind of wish I had just done my year and not left. Jesus has gotten me sober and I have kind of a real job but I still kind of miss Fern Acres. If anyone reading this can guess who I am you can email me at czydiamond@cableone.net. I knew lots of people and lots of people knew me, at least by sight. Never did get into the Pidgin, haoles who did just seemed like fakes to me. Hawai'i kind of seems like the only home I've ever known. Maybe I was getting to be Kamaaina. Probably the best years of my life in spite of all the booze. I'd love to come back but i'm still pretty poor and my health aint that good any more. I just wish I'd stayed in touch. Its not that I did'nt care but more old and present pains and not wishing to call someone and admit that things were not going all that well. Hawai'i is truly a special place full of special people. Evil exists there as it does anywhere in this place but God has also kissed this island. Mahalo

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by homunculus on 2007-02-01 23:42:21
93! Hello I wanted to introduce myself because I have been mystified by the amazing energy and love you all have for everything on this beautiful earth. I currently live in California and I am doing lots of research on being a part of an intentional community or commune in Hawaii because I feel that it coming time for me to choose that path. I feel like I am surrounded by people who put too much emphasis on material things. I feel that the farther we get away from nature, the more chaos we create in our lives. I want to feel like I am a part of something that is in sync with the energy that comes from all things within the universe. I feel like the Hawaii community can assist me in Asana,Pranayama, Mantrayoga, Yama, Niyama, Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana, Samadhi studies and internal healing. I would very much like to be invited to your community for at least one year in order to develop my studies, clear my mind, be a part in contributing to building your community, and hopefully we can all learn from each other. If accepted into your community I would like to be there April of 2007. 93/93 Love and Light Homunculus wehauntyou@yahoo.com

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by Dandy Andi on 2006-12-30 22:22:34
Hello to all the Beautiful People, Can anyone reccomend any of the universities in Hawaii, any that are surrounded by lots of nature and cool laid back people. I am coming from San Diego and the scene at San Diego State makes me sick??? THanks peace and love Dandy

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by happy kat on 2006-12-16 23:45:36
hello. im ready to move to my dream land. im from chicago (originally from the P.I.) and ive had it with freezing weather. im sitting here in my house with 2 socks, long johns, coat, and a hat...cold as heck. my 5 year old son agrees that warm weather is for us. Can anyone recommend which island we should move to? Cheapest island to live on and to buy a small house on... if this still exist. any help is appreaciated. thank you.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by iwearkilt@aol.com on 2006-12-07 17:12:15
Hawaii......Wow man what a dream about to come true. I am a nomad wanderer from Richmond Virginia Soon to be On my one way trip to Kauai(hopefully)Or into Oahu and then puddle jumping into Lehua. Either way I am bound for paradise....at what price.....Who cares, its expensive to live anywhere nowadays. Anyways, I have been a carpenter for 8 years and hope to use my skills to my advantage while there...But I am open to anything, Maybe Mama's Fish House needs a dishwasher. The point is I am coming prepared But with Rock as my pillow and Sky as my cieling...Looking for any oppourtunity I am given for work or barter. If arms are open then I am open for constructive critisism. I am supposed to come with a friend but I have a feeling he is going to hold me back(our intentions are different thats all). Everybody feel free to email me at the above address, perhaps we can help each other! Kudos

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by ted on 2006-11-18 17:54:58
I'm looking for a cheap way for my family of four to spend two weeks mostly in the kona area in Jan/07. Does anyone know someone who rents a camper van or ? We are coming from Winnipeg to visit some family who live in a very small apartment. wogberg@hotmail.com

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by HI on 2006-11-06 17:39:07
i think hawai is really cool. but belgium rocks. stupid fuck drugs around there. haahaaa

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by William (Bill) Peterson on 2006-10-03 21:38:50   My Score:
I am looking for my son Anthony William Peterson aliasTony alias Ocean or Sea Mountain or something like that. He was last seen on Hawaii but moves around to the other islands in a blue van we have been told. We know that he had a girl friend Sarah and her children. We know that a car he owned was found on PAUA a few years ago and that he does not know how much he is missed. If you see him or know of him, our family could use a leg up. We do not know why he has not contacted us for 6 years but i am sure he should know that my father-in-law died, My father died, I became a minister, he has 3 nieces and 3 nephews, we wish him our love. contact us at 409-423-5414 Thank you!!!

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by Corey on 2006-08-27 00:24:20
looking for work in the Area. does anyone know where l can get a job ... l dont like lables so l wont call myself a hippie ... Im am just a martial artist who travels and find hippies to be the best of people so if anyone knows where l can find a job on the Island it would help out greatly Thank you for your time I can be reached at CoreyE814@peoplepc.com... thanks agian

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by marc jubas on 2006-06-28 15:43:35
seeking caretaking jobs on big island of hawaii call me marc at; 1-541-592-6198 i have references i presently live in cave junctuion oregan i need a payee for my ssi also, i,m a caretaker at present but am lookung for a caretakers job on big island if anyone can help me marc i,m age 58 single christian jew.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by Siren on 2006-06-01 02:59:13
I've lived in Hawaii for 15 years and I'm 23 now. I love hawaii, but it isn't a place for a free ride. I did lifeguarding for a while and there was a time where there was about 7 of us living in our cars (Finding a place to live in you car is getting harder). I've seen the island grow and all the million dollar homes going up over here. Right now I live in a nice shack with my husband and two year old in the back of someone's property for a decent amount of rent money. We are trying to save up for property to have a nice little farm on. We are hard workers and it will probably take us a while to reach our goal. It definitely helps to start out in Hawaii with some money. Just buying food can cost a lot and I grow a lot of my own fruits and veggies. So, if you want to come to Hawaii my advice is to check it out first and plan on making some money in some way. Everyone's experience can be different too.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by jessica on 2006-03-31 05:39:11
i like to live outside for months at a time. im getting used to it in small dosages so that in hopefully a couple years from now ill be able to do it permentatly. for the months of june-september id like to try out kauai. Im not familure with the area at all but i woke one morning knowing i wanted to go to the na pali coast with haveing no knowlege of kauai before. Im pretty in touch with who I am and the world i know through my own perspective, but i dont know how much of a "hippie" i really am. I'm me, no lables. and i would never try to be something im not to fit into a stereotype. But i was hoping any individuals who visit this site might have some insightful information to the island of kauia (back country expecially). i dont bring a tent...i sleep outside with me and the dirt and the stars in the sky with the exception of a blanket and a device to purify water in a small backpack. (i dislike the fact i need an exception but im talking smalls steps to where i want to be.) im rambling , my apoligies, im not very good at this internet thing. But to the point if anyone could give me some good information on where to go, hidden caves, tree canepies, ect. please post something for me or email me at pinkvelvet89@yahoo.com (and please mind the spelling, never quite got that skill down.)

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by nathan on 2006-03-30 22:31:54
caretakers wanted up in sikiyou county, seeking single christian men who maybe retired, on fixed incomes, who own therre own rv,s anyone interested write to me about nmore info, map to the land, its in a pine covered valley on a private road about 15 miles northeast of yreka california about 15 miles southeast of ashland oregan send photos, personal profiles your interests to; brother nathan newcomb pobox 1755 san jacinto,ca 92581 i,m seeking vegan cooks, organic gardners, tradesmens, hippies welcome, no drigs or illegal substances allowed, preferr holy men of god who might like building something on my land like; www.yurts.com or www.pacificdomes.com or www.hubbellandhubbell.com free form futuristic houses or triplewide mobile modular homes wood exterior, with wood fired sauna, root cellar, mineral indoor spau, total gym, ab lounge and massage table, making liquid tinctures mixed in organic juices, home made organic breads etc. mechanics shop, telescope, lillie ponds and water fallsoriental bridges, fruit trees, bosen berries, black berries, nut trees, pomogranite trees, art studio, wood shop, and storage sheds

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by marc on 2006-03-30 22:18:31
I,m seeking caretaking jobs in Hawaii if have references Marc I,m presently doing Caretaking in Cave junction Oregan. if anyone can help me call 1-951-654-8928 ask for nathan he,ll call me in oregan at www.phonecards99.com

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by marc on 2006-03-19 18:29:04
seeking caretaking jobs in Hawaiian Islands ask for marc at 1-541-592-6199 presently live in Cave junction Oregan seeking Hippies who are Followers of Yeshua/Jesus Organic growers and enjoy Smoking weed

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by emjaywaunuhtoke on 2006-03-16 20:40:46
Hey howzit everyone I just thought this was a neat site for contacting other cool people on the Hilo side. My buddy lives in pahoa (hawaiian beaches) sometimes I stay the night then we go go exploring the next day throughout the area. I was wondering if anyone knows of any real exotic places We may not know about.E-mail me please: sk8fsupunk@aol.com

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by miss m in los skandoulous on 2006-03-06 22:27:05
Im cummin outa hawaii,i dont give a fuck what island i start on ,ill end up where ever you are like karma im everywhere!totally board with L.A. goin to meet up with some freinds that just left venice beach.i tattoo,blowglass,sew,grow,and so much more if anyone has a couch i can crash holla!!!my e-mail is inkcrazy666@yahoo.com or check out my freakin myspace http://www.myspace.com/midnightstudio oh ya if you didnt get it on in 1969 the summer of love your not a HIPPIE baby!I know my moms one!

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by DIANA on 2006-02-19 07:43:13
I A M GOING TO THE BIG ISLAND FOR THE FIRST TIME...I AM LOOKING FOR CHILL PEOPLE TO GET TO KNOW SO MAYBER WE COULD HANG OUT AND HAVE THE NICEST TIME EVER... SO IF PEOPLE ARE DOWN TO SHOW A 21 YEAR OLD ADVENTURER THE FUN ANSWER ME.......I AM NERVOUES BUT OPRFULLY I WILL FIND A LOT OF CHILL PEOPLE....

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by TEXASPETERSON on 2006-01-17 17:16:27
I need help. I have a brother who lived in Kuaii for several years and also on the big island. My family has not heard from in over 5 years. His name is Anthony William Peterson or Sea Mountian (SE Mantan or something like that.) Has anyone met him or know of him. I just want to know if he is still alive. Last time he called he was living with a women and her 4 children. I think Sara was her name her sons name is josh and her youngests name is Amarie. Please Help! Any info would be appreciated.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by hippichicksrule on 2005-12-15 04:03:39
Kynd friends, I lived on Kauila St. in Hilo town on the Big Island for 2 years. let me tell you everyhting in Hawaii brought in from somewhere else and very expensive. No cheap living there, no way. Now i have the real Paradise. No phony hula shyte. Greenfield, Mass. okay, you say joking, right? Not joking. Pleanty of cheap, cheap apartments in phunky old farmhouses. A growing community of kynd folks, hippies, musicians, artists, writers, crafts, herbs, shrooms. Easy to hook up. Mellow friendly place. Like Seattle or Puna 20 years ago. Skinny dipping and camping along the Green River, hang out at Greenfields Organic Market, Cafe Koko, Peoples Pint, my livingroom. Summer of Love 2006 - Greenfield Massachusetts

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by schlarbogurl on 2005-12-06 20:20:33
seriously on the jesus tip...even saying bless you after a sneeze can make you an outsider. but i digress. I LOVE HAWAII!!!! there is NOT a fine line between hippy and bum. a hippy is always skilled at something in some way. SKILLS SKILLS SKILLS skills can feed your need. otherwise youre just a bum.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by nuh on 2005-12-02 21:16:39
Posted by schlarbogurl on 2005-09-30 20:36:41 My Score: Comment: awww dawk, dont be so disenchanted. ...../If you cant find it on Big Island...you dont need it. /If a person needs bling bling fillings, doctors and jesus...visit a mainland mall :) \ big gurl!? why you got to throw the Big Man up in the mix?? some things, best to leave be :) lol group hug?! come on now, who couldn't us a hug, just 'cause. *bg* it's all good! ;)

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by Billie on 2005-11-16 20:46:50
I'm Billie Spears, from Salt Lake and I was wondering how I find women's retreats or communes, or anything 2 year old friendly! I am a damn hard worker and just need to see whats out there for my son and I, please any advice would help...so much Thank you all

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by Cowgirl on 2005-11-13 22:24:46
Wow, you guys are insane!! and hilarious!!! Really laughed at your various points of view, one thing is correct, Punatic, life can be good or lousy ANYWHERE. Being a bum as a profession is not socially popular ANYWHERE. I am not planning a trip to Hawaii anytime soon, but if I did, I would have a round trip ticket, and stay in a hotel (I can hear the booing and hissing already) Ha Ha Ha

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by A Happy Punatick on 2005-10-31 22:30:31
I moved my family to Puna a couple of years ago to get away from the rat race of California. Apparantely I moved to a different place than Rose and many others that have posted here because we LOVE life here and wouldn't trade it for anywhere. Sure, things are not perfect here but then everywhere has it's issues. The hard drug and racism issues are certainly no more previlent here than what I have seen in other places. And as for the 'free services' and ability to live (mooch) off of others here: I don't think you can go anywhere and expect to be greeted warmly by the existing residents if you aren't willing to carry your own weight and pay for the things you need. So panhandlers and obvious bums aren't 'respected' here anymore than anywhere else. On the other hand, what we and most others love most about the Puna area is the diversity of the residents and the acceptance of alternative lifestyles. Being a hippy here is not an issue. No one is going to look at you funny if you walk through Pahoa with dreadlocks and bare feet. Being different and anti-establishment is okay here. But you need to take responsibility for yourself and not expect others to support you. If you want to live in a tent with no power and no car and no job - that's okay. Literally thousands do it and love their ability to live that kind of life here. But they grow their own food and herbs and aren't intrusive to others. So I guess life anywhere can be good or can be shitty depending on you perspective. But life is too short to be unhappy. Rose and the others that haven't found happiness here owe it to themselves to find happiness elsewhere. Just don't be so presumptious to think everyone shares your dismal outlook on this paradise.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by A Happy Punatick on 2005-10-31 22:30:30
I moved my family to Puna a couple of years ago to get away from the rat race of California. Apparantely I moved to a different place than Rose and many others that have posted here because we LOVE life here and wouldn't trade it for anywhere. Sure, things are not perfect here but then everywhere has it's issues. The hard drug and racism issues are certainly no more previlent here than what I have seen in other places. And as for the 'free services' and ability to live (mooch) off of others here: I don't think you can go anywhere and expect to be greeted warmly by the existing residents if you aren't willing to carry your own weight and pay for the things you need. So panhandlers and obvious bums aren't 'respected' here anymore than anywhere else. On the other hand, what we and most others love most about the Puna area is the diversity of the residents and the acceptance of alternative lifestyles. Being a hippy here is not an issue. No one is going to look at you funny if you walk through Pahoa with dreadlocks and bare feet. Being different and anti-establishment is okay here. But you need to take responsibility for yourself and not expect others to support you. If you want to live in a tent with no power and no car and no job - that's okay. Literally thousands do it and love their ability to live that kind of life here. But they grow their own food and herbs and aren't intrusive to others. So I guess life anywhere can be good or can be shitty depending on you perspective. But life is too short to be unhappy. Rose and the others that haven't found happiness here owe it to themselves to find happiness elsewhere. Just don't be so presumptious to think everyone shares your dismal outlook on this paradise.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by BooHoo on 2005-10-25 16:42:00
Hawaii is not America, is it? Does not sound like it to me, love that "us against them" attitude, must be all that good weed they are smoking, making them better people. Hey, I know where you can live for "free", in jail, dont have to pay for food, lodging what a deal. Everything costs money, if you are not willing to work, you do not deserve to have things, cars, smoke, whatever. The world does not owe you a living, not even in Hawaii. Racism is racism, even in Hawaii, it is ugly.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by themovement on 2005-10-20 22:51:19
Hawaiian locals shouldn't be so angry.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by fuquay on 2005-10-11 01:39:00
will pay cash

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by fuquay on 2005-10-11 01:38:15
i need a guide in pahoa area

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by schlarbogurl on 2005-09-30 20:36:41
awww dawk, dont be so disenchanted. /A person could live happily on Big Island without being rich. In fact probably more happy with less cash. /Big Island is the only place Ive ever seen that a person could literally "live off land". /Pitch a tent, sit back and behold the power of cheese. /If you cant find it on Big Island...you dont need it. /If a person needs bling bling fillings, doctors and jesus...visit a mainland mall :)

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by DAWK on 2005-09-30 08:43:46
This was just what I was looking-for; the key word-here was 'puna' and I found this site. read some local big island ,experienced -advice-givers,who really know the score.Thankx , I just saved a bundle on travle expenses, by not going there ! In the 60s, I lived-worked-cheaply in honolulu for several years,and it is amazing how much the islands have changed.Big Money can be bad news for paradise,and I had planned to make a "do i wanna live there?" kind of trip to the big island,but NO-THanks, since the 'hard-life' described by Da Whahennie-lady-local, from living there 17 years,was enough to say'adios' to any thought of trying to 'retire' there. looks like Panama will be my next trip,to see if it beats 'DA-KINE" and "mo-bettah" place to live.And I don't have to speak 'pidgen', just spanish! As an old hippie,will forget about hawaii,since it looks like the cheap land on the big island has dissapeared up the asses of the filthy-rich, and yes, the aloha spirit still remains with the hawaiians,but 'da-haole' Newcommer , with little money is screwed! "Hola,senior, could you direct me to the nearest hippie retreat for old-farts,since I am new to your country of panama? SI-senior, you can live better and cheaper than Hawaii, and we have big snakes that eat all the 'big pigs and rats'.The scorpions have less venom and the centipedes are a local dish, and you can grow your buds,nobody cares, no problemas."

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by chris olds on 2005-09-27 03:30:53
Am wanting to move to hawaii here soon. Am looking for land that is not pocket breaking. Have cash for good land. Am, looking for space close to beach or even land to rent. If there is any good polaces for cheep rent please let me know. stormtrooper97223@hotmail.com

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by Haole Tom on 2005-09-24 21:19:34
Puna is paradise. I stay Puna ten years and I nevah go back da mainland.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by Sunman on 2005-09-24 05:42:34
Puna is a hard area Rose is right, I was dere ten years ago before they put in electric lines down near keahena and the red road. There was a many a time Haloes wash up in the surf off rock crops..reasons? Puna butta was dah bomb when you could get it, but it was mainly shake. All I know is if you don't know don't go. Aloha

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by Wow on 2005-09-15 23:23:45
As shocking and hateful as the post below is, I have heard about that sentiment before from friend who visited Hawaii. They were called Howlies (?sp), and intensely hated by the locals for the most part.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by osun on 2005-09-12 05:43:28
faggot hippies living off hawaii the locals hate you they probably jacked you leave or you will die in a lava toob mooch.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by Linda on 2005-07-30 22:21:22
Hi there, I would love to visit Hawaii and meet some local hippie people that might like to to hang out or show me around. I am from Portland, Oregon. I am 36 SWF. Any long hairs out there like to show me around ? ;o)

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by one who knows on 2005-07-19 23:28:10
Christian Hippie??? A Christian is a Christian, no need for further affiliation. Looks like Nathan, the false prophet is looking for someone to mooch off of. Please, for the love of God, quit using my precious Lord Jesus Christ's name to avoid working for a living. Get off your lazy butt and support yourself!! Shame on you!!! Preying on seniors and/or disabled folks on fixed incomes. The so-called Christ Family has always used the earnings and income of the unsuspecting to feed their guts and drug habits. God sees you, Nathan, and Cotton (aka Lightning Amen), and you will surely reap your reward.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by starfoxx on 2005-07-09 08:09:47
am looking for anyone who was at ataraxia farms back in 81-82or83 please any info?

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by huh? on 2005-06-15 11:19:51
quit bitching and go outside, rose.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by Bigfoot Steve on 2005-04-15 23:43:44
I cannot believe the level of whining by some people. You want what other have to offer, food banks, dental work, etc. and complain about the quality and availability. You complain about the availability of Docs that can perscribe but how would you pay? There is nowhere on the mainland that is so liberal...stop complaining and realize that you live in the true paradise.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by Rose on 2005-02-20 14:12:50
I have lived on the Big Isle for 14 years now and what is happening here lately just makes me sick. Land USED to be cheap here but those days are quickly going. Used to be you could get 3 acres for around $150 a month w/ no improvments but now even raw land will be a payment in the hundreds - unless you bring cash. Three acres cash used to be under 10 grand now more like around 25,000 and rising quickly. Building materials are very overpriced. There is a legal med-ijauana law but only two Dr.s on the island do the certification and they are swamped. The permit gives you the right to 7 plants and 3 ozs of dried material. Otherwise expect to pay upwards of $600 an oz for Puna Buddah.... What they call Shake is cheaper but often no more than just leaf for $30 an oz. Living is harsher then you would expect - everyone says 'But you live in paradise...' but paradise is expensive, there are few food banks, the 'free' dental & med service is run by the judgemental catholik church - they charge to fill teeth w/ black fillings etc. - sliding fee scale. It is a great place to come if you are young and strong and have money but a sucky place to spend your retirement years. The jungle is strong and you have to fight it back w/ brute strength and a machete, you have to catch water to use, there are very large wild boars everywhere,(just last week I saw a group of seven not even a mile from where I live!) centipedes that sting, scorpions, rats (that give you leptosrirosis) - it's a hard life. On the other hand you spend next to nothing on heating in the winter. There is a lot of hard drug use here too and the desperate people that brings - there have been home invasion robberies. But there is magic here too - a lot of energy connected to this place but you have to be ready to work your ass off for it.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by schlarbogurl on 2005-02-13 18:39:44
Bumber sticker dude... try the Emporium...across from laquinns in pahoa. you could also try thast handmade gift shop by the new subway. both places do consignment. there are also a few record stores in hilo that sell stuff like that. christian hippy...is this an official oxymoron? freely living like a sheep following a heard and totally not being free at all.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by jesus christ on 2005-02-01 07:18:23
Wanted like minded Hippie artists to start artist colony on our secluded Debt free Land up in Siskiyou county anyone iinterested call me asap nathan 1-909-596-5804 in la verne california preferr christian hippies preferr singles only who enjoy free form architecture too

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by nathan on 2005-02-01 07:12:59
seeking christian hippies possible primetimers on fixed incomes with there own bus or rv they live in as Caretakers who might be looking for back country place to live on a Private road up in siskiyou County, anyone interested, call ne at 1-909-596-5804 they must be liberal minded and enjoy organic gardening, growing herbs, sun bathing, building free form architectural buildings out of scrape with stain glass and mosaic tiles, wood butcher art etc, houses possibly like www.hubbellandhubbell.com and like www.yarts.com or like www.pacificdomes.com I am a Single Christian Hippy who belongs to the Christ Family in Hemet California, Riverside County, On March 1st I,ll be moving to; Marc a jubas c/o Nathan G. Newcomb 1044 West Florida Ave Space 68 Hemet,CA 92546 Anyone can send letters/self portraits and sases to us. were Followers of "Yeshua/Yahweh/Elohim/Jehovah" Marc does Biblical collages, I do Mosaic Tiles and Fine art Prints and free Form architectural design, at krceoa pobox29 Hornbrook,ca 96044 anyone can send $5.00 to them to recieve there website Photos and Maps and subdivision maps of kcreao ,were both Street Preachers to. Our Land is 5 miles northeast of yreka,California Marc belongs to the Rainbow Family he is Christian Jew

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by nathan on 2005-02-01 06:59:43
seeking suitable living quarters with other christian hippies in and around Hemet/san jacinto/green acres/homeland anyone in need of a real friend who you can connect with call Naomi at anns place for her and her son Jesse 1-951-929-5779

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by Ule on 2005-01-26 17:47:07
We are looking to find a great place on the big island to settle down on some land and build a home. We are looking for any freindly information on locations that are safe and affordible for a family. We are looking for 1 achre near a road and to build a 2 bedroom home. Please advise max@eservicese.com

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by Elf on 2004-12-26 03:55:34
Antony, just offer to suck the dudes dick and he will tune you up to some weed.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by Anthony on 2004-12-14 01:10:22
Iam going to Kona in a fews days... I was wondering if there is a good place on the island were i buy so buds.. iam a regular smoker am and excited to taste what hawaii has to offer.. i heard the big island has the biggest production but no clue what parts its easy to find in..

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by sabrina on 2004-12-05 02:38:54
i mest have forget to mention, i am pretty girl with brown skin and large how do you say chi chis? My dampness is equal to that of waielele mtn, the wettest place on earth. hi boys.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by sabrina on 2004-12-04 10:35:00
um hello, i just moved here from Brazil. im trying to find how do you say.... hung? man on big island. im staying in kona looking for place near by, maybe some man can show me fun here?

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by RED on 2004-12-03 08:48:48
Youre right, it IS a bitch finding work on the west coast. You should get out of L>A bra, now. Dont go to hawaii and try to rent a studio, though. THe more money you give to the apartment people, the more they will make and pretty soon Hawaii is Van Nuys, know what I mean. Its tropical, all you need is a little shack. Or sleep on someones couch,, shit. you will find people in Hawaii who want to help you. You have to want to help them, though. And you have to want to help yourself. If you say you dont like LA and its not just cuz you are lazy and would be in that same predicament anywhere you go, then go. Dont swim in a fucking t shirt. Eat healthy and work hard. Your skin will get used to the sun. Oh and use the trees for their shade, thats what they are there for. As for Joey Aquarius, I think that he is telling you how to get a job at the Hyatt or the Sheridan rather than how to actually have a good time in Hawaii. You know the old saying, "god made dirt, so dirt dont hurt..." get dirty, brah. And lean on as many cars as you possibly can. Especially Joe Cool AquARIUS'S.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by Chris on 2004-09-30 22:22:07
Good pot cheap land!!! Lots of hard drug users alot of camper get held up with guns, hide your camp well. It is one of the poorest counties in the U.S so land is cheap and their is alot of hippies, but alot of speed freaks to. you can buy an acre of land for 1 or 2 thousand dollors so theirs lots of people in the jungle growing puna buds, but theirs also lots of people cooking speed, and all that wierd shit that comes with it. BRING a RAIN COAT in the winter on day i was their it rained 23 inces in 24hrs.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by ben on 2004-09-23 23:29:55
The Big Island is as amazing as you make it. Many comments on this page are circumstances. The Puna district is very relaxing, laid back, verses other parts of the island. I rather stay around Pahoa, there are fewer tourists that visit this area. It is a very earth friendly town with a wonderful natural food store, an amazing old school mexican joint. It is a very simple life compared to the other parts of the island. If your in the Puna district there are many hidden treasures.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by schlarbogurl on 2004-09-17 19:56:52
Just stay real and relaxed if visiting Pohoa. Everyone is friendly and the spirit of Aloha is abundant. Get a bite to eat at LaQuinns! Its practically a joke to suggest one should be "clean looking". This is the rainforest! Not to mention most people around here work in the Earth, or at least play in the Earth...we are ALL dirty looking! Baths are encouraged, those who dont bathe with regularity are typically called Heppys...As in Hep C. They are known to dookie on the beach of Kalapana FYI.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by jaynez31 on 2004-07-22 12:55:44   My Score:
Pahoa has Kalani Honua and captain cook has dragon someting. Kau'u has woman runs commune or ranch. Honoka'a also has some sort of retreat center as well. this is more organized. I actually went to the woman's ranch or commune the owner who is from Canada's wealthy family. She plays drum. http://www.kalani.com/ http://www.penrose-press.com/IDD/edu/cards/E1945.html

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by jaynez31 on 2004-07-22 12:47:10   My Score:
Hilo sucks. I remember that I used to live in Hilo, Pepekeo(yea the section 8 apartment). There are old lsland life style(plantation slave life style) and new from mainland(hippy, drug run, etc). and New life style people either moving to Kona or Puna. Some hippy got decent job(real estate) and moving to Kona, or growing the Puna butter in Puna then finding expensive property in West Hawaii. Ohh well they once start getting large amount of money, and they are moving to Waimea and Kealakekua where millionea hippys runs communes(women's) or run bed and breakfast in captan cook area. I feel such hippys are little snob and Puna hippys are soo dork. http://www.hawaiiinformation.com/REsearch/IDX/mlsHawaii/searchResults.asp

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by GothicHippie on 2004-07-06 07:18:05
Greetings! I am a hippie living in LA, trying to bug out of here and move to somewhere life can be had without a huge bankroll or bunch of degrees to impress the man. Can a hippie with such a humble dream of having a studio appartment, a good job, cable tv, and the right to have long hair and a ear ring without getting grief, find happiness in hawaii? Like, what kind of entry level idiot jobs could I land there? I cant even get job here in LA flipping burgers because I cant say it in spanish. I was thinking there has got to be some good jobs over there, that would gladly take a hippie whos best knowlege and skills are in underwater basketweaving... I.E. someone who needs a brake to start building a life, in such a cool environment.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by joey aquarius on 2004-01-03 02:57:44
Dear Hawaii traveller- I'll try to help you out here. DO NOT ariive here broke. The cost of food alone can wipe you out quick, and you CANNOT live on Bananas. BE CLEAN LOOKING. Your hair can be long (About 20% of Hawaiians have long hair) but if it looks BUGGY or RATTY you're gonna get called a 'LEPO' (think LEPROSY) and shunned. CLEANLINESS is EVERYTHING over here. DON'T lean on anyone's VEHICLE. It's an INSULT! If you're really FAT don't go naked at the nude beach. People can get awfully rude awfully fast. Don't beg and spare change as a lifestyle here. It's almost the Third World here and the sight of White Americans begging has a discombobulating effect on the locals. Don't think that because you play a little guitar that you're gonna get over with everyone. EVERYBODY in Hawaii plays and sings. It's like breathing, so you better be really GOOD or just put that thing back in the case. Hmmm-let's see.. ANY cut or scrape will become INFECTED with a mean type of STAPH if you don't IMMEDIATELY rub some TEATREE OIL on it. Bring some with you. It's at the health food store. STAY OUT OF THE SUN. This is really the deep TROPICS. You will burn SO FAST!!!! Wear a t-shirt in the ocean! Lather up with SPF a million! You'll get tan anyway, so don't worry about that. DO NOT BRING WEED into the state! They don't care if you puff a bit while you're there. It's not that big a deal anymore. Just don't bring any in or especially OUT. Ask around-it's about. And be sure to try and spend your dough with REAL HAWAAIANS as opposed to the usurpers that run the place. REAL Hawaiians are pretty poor and can really use the help. You can recognize them by their wonderful auras and sense of Aloha.

Big Island, Hawaii
Posted by Ken Broadfoot on 2002-05-24 00:26:22   My Score:
The open market in Hilo on Wednesdays and Saturdays also features a good cross section of "hippies" I met a glassblower from California and a flute maker from Eugene that would definitely fit into the category.

Survey
Do You Support the Occupy Movement Protests?

Yes!
No!
Not Sure



Results
Polls

Votes: 7220
Comments: 19

Old Articles
· The Taliban is Not Hiding in my Kitchen, but MSG is!
· Napalm—Not Your Ordinary Jelly
· The War on Terror is Very Big Business—Using YOUR Money
· The Revolution Will Not Be Televised
· Protest Against War with Iran!
· Former Revolutionary About to Become Brazil's President
· Hippy.com Updated!
· A Real Solution to the Economic Crisis
· Creating a new culture based on tribal values
· Weather Underground Fifth Communication (1970)

Older Articles

New Reviews
· The Seeds
· Light Years: an Anthology (Multimedia in the East Village, 1960-1966)
· The Fundamental difference between King Crimson and the Brit Prog Cartel
· Blackburn & Snow
· Billy Fay
· Michael Chapman
· Jimmie Spheeris
· Bram Stoker (Prog Band)
· Robert Plant & his Band Of Joy
· Loving Awareness

Featured Forums
· Marijuana Forum
· Hippies
· UK Hippies
· Music Forum
· Love & Sex Forum
· Psychedelics
· Politics Forum

Featured Blogs
·Skip's Travel Journal
·Inner Journey
·Old Tiger's Gypsy Journal
·My Wonderland
·The Accidental Blog
·Oldwolf's Journal

Hip Videos
Child of Thunder
Views: 5104
Rating: 3.02 Votes: 109

The New LA Folk Festival
Views: 4861
Rating: 2.99 Votes: 108

Scott Davidson: A Tracker in Marin County
Views: 4621
Rating: 3.12 Votes: 113

The Psychedelic Landscape Dept.
Views: 7216
Rating: 3.00 Votes: 141

Summertime - Janis Joplin
Views: 10936
Rating: 3.06 Votes: 217

Summer of Love 1967
Views: 11687
Rating: 2.97 Votes: 201

1967 Video about Hippies
Views: 12852
Rating: 3.02 Votes: 223

The Hippies Were Right!
Views: 9474
Rating: 3.04 Votes: 202


All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © by Hip Inc.