Welcome to Hippyland!

* Home of the Hippies *

Main Menu
Survey
Do You Support the Occupy Movement Protests?

Yes!
No!
Not Sure



Results | Polls
Search


Random Headlines

Freedom
[ Freedom ]

·UN, Natives And Hippies Unite To Save The World
·Peoples Revolution
·Off the Grid in the Natural State
·Creating a new culture based on tribal values
·Lakota Sioux Declare Independence from USA
·Native Americans Fight Back! (1968)
·Native American Anarchists (1965)
·Torture at the 17th Precinct (1970)
·A Pardon for Jim Morrison?
Categories Menu
· A Trip Thru the '60s
·
Archives
·
Ask The Old Hippy
·
Columns
·
Hip Profiles
·
Hippies From A to Z
·
Hippyland Tour
·
Interviews
·
Letters to Hippyland
·
Links
·
News
·
Reviews
·
Skip's Corner
· The Seeds
· Light Years: an Anthology (Multimedia in the East Village, 1960-1966)
· The Fundamental difference between King Crimson and the Brit Prog Cartel
· Blackburn & Snow
· Billy Fay
· Michael Chapman
· Jimmie Spheeris
· Bram Stoker (Prog Band)
· Robert Plant & his Band Of Joy
· Loving Awareness
New Articles
· How Saving Water Helps Reduce Global Warming
· Cannabis in Alchemical Literature
· A Call to Elder Stoners: Your Job has Just Begun
· UN, Natives And Hippies Unite To Save The World
· The Beyond Prohibition Foundation

[ More in News Section ]
 

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia

I've travelled high and low across Canada to find 'paradise', and the Annapolis Valley in Nova Scotia has loads of organic farms and many back-to-land hippies probably due to the cheap older heritage homes for sale in the region. They're practically giving these homes away. Bear River in 'the Valley' as they say is known as a funky arts and environmental hang-out. The Annapolis Valley has stunning scenery, and the mildest weather in Eastern Canada. Forget about the Eastern shore of Nova Scotia - really conservative.

The West Coast along the Bay of Fundy is more liberal and the vegetation more lush with green forested hills and farmland (and in some places along the Fundy shore, you'll even find turquoise tinted waters).

Added: January 17th 2005
Reviewer: Tim Smith | See all reviews by Tim Smith
Category: Place
Location: Canada

Hits: 27644

  
[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by Cia on 2013-02-22 18:43:03
Hello Iam considering moving my family to Nova Scotia Annapolis Valley region. We are looking for land to  organic farm put our horses on and for a great sense of community. We presently live in Ontario in a small village outside the city of Peterborough, my concern after researching Nova Scotia, is racism it has been dubbed the Mississippi of the north. I want to know if there is any truth to this or if it is inflated media propaganda, my children are bi-racial and have suffered enough in this area of Ontario, I would not want to move them to a possibly more intolerant area. I realize that racism exists everywhere in small minded unevolved  people I personally strive to eradicate it from our lives and rise above it in all forms. My question is to what extent does exist in this area and is it safe? 
Thank you very much.

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by Mrs Cass on 2012-11-10 14:51:44
HI there, 

I hope that someone out there can give me some informative reviews regarding Annapolis and in particular Kentville. I was born, raised and currently reside in the United Kingdom but am looking to move to the region with my husband and young daughter. I would like to know what your opinions are on the county as a whole, crime levels and general lifestyle, as well as what education and health care is like. Although I know that I can get the 'facts' from websites, I would like to to know people themselves think as this is where you get the real 'feel for things' from in my opinion. My email address is jenni.cass@hotmail.co.uk and would really like to hear from you.

Many thanks in advance,

Jenni

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by ig5gy on 2012-05-31 03:32:52
I was born and raised in the valley and did actually grow up in the village of Paradise,NS. I moved away for school, then came back. Then I moved away for work, then came back. I now live in Bridgetown an am married with three kids and I can't imagine living and bringing my kids up anywhere else but here. everybody knows everybody and it doesn't matter if your from hear or not everybody will watch out for your kids. We all know that the kids are our future. as far as gardening. Pretty much anything you want to grow will grow here, it's just a matter of will it have enough time to mature. The growing season is usually the middle of May to the middle of October. I've lived here for going on forty years and I know the land and the people as good as anyone. if anyone has any questions don't hesitate to contact me... caldwell68@hotmail.com... I'm happy to help as I'm sure that most of the people here would be just as eager. 

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by Colincrowell on 2012-04-23 20:45:39   My Score:
As a realtor in the area I can attest to the fact that now, more than ever, we are seeing people move here in droves due to the cheap land, beautiful old houses in need of TLC, and yes, the PEOPLE!  It's a great place to live, no matter what your background, lifestyle or aspirations!

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by Kaysar on 2011-08-30 19:19:11   My Score:
Artsy?  A Playhouse?  Cafés?  My type of place.  My partner are hoping to move to the area within the next few years. Looking forward to seeing you all!!


Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by Lee Lee on 2010-09-23 21:21:37
Please stop all the labeling... really from this group I would expect better... the valley has:

Good, bad, ugly, mean, black, white, french, naive, astute, friendly, unfriendly, liberal, conservative, hippy, military, english, galic, open minded, narrow minded etc etc etc people

People.. just like everywhere else.. find your niche.. live and let live.. STOP JUDGING and placing values..

The girl who was unhappy here and moving home.. you wanted everyone to understand your point of view but you label and paint everyone here with one brush..

REALLY?  REALLY?

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by KC on 2010-09-02 02:19:09   My Score:
Used to work there as a young man for a national bank in the late sixties.   it was a quaint place ( Wolfville and area) but the folks were friendly and there were lots of social activities.  Halifax was only an hour or so away if you really wanted something more.  I have been back there several times on vacations with family and always enjoyed stopping for a meal or a visit to one of the local wineries which have come a long way and the wine was great!  If you are from a richer part of the country and want to cash out and move there you may be able to pickup some real estate for a lot less and start a small business but make sure you dont have your sunglasses on! Frank Evans, are you still there man?   peace baby. 

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by Tom W from VT on 2009-09-13 14:48:51
My partner and I would like to move to NS, but have found to start a business one must have at leaset 800,000 - has anyone started a business and if so was it difficult, any advice would be greatly appreciated. We also want to get back to the basics and live off the land and are also sick of the politics in the US - it never gets better only worse. Thanks for all the info. Tom / tewwillis@hotmail.com

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by MJ in AR on 2009-06-19 00:37:44
My husband and I recently turned our backs on corporate life to semi-retire in the Annapolis Valley - we are in Paradise! Things are neither cheaper nor more expensive than where we moved from other than the sales tax of course - but I do have a question I'm hoping a "local" can answer for me. Where the heck can we buy fresh fish?!? We have bought from a vendor at the local Saturday market in Annapolis Royal and from O'Neil's in Digby - but the prices are really high - was I naive in thinking reasonably priced fish would be in abundance?

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by laguna kathy on 2009-01-11 19:09:37
anyone out there know of a good place for me (loen women about 55)to return back to the land that has large trees (like Oak) and a water source (river?) in the Valley?? Serious really about doing this after a lifetime of having left a back to the land trip when I was 19-24! Any help most appreciated. Laguna Kathy

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by Junie on 2008-09-21 16:25:51
Hi everyone, It's interesting to read your views of the valley. I know the valley very well because my family has been there since the 1700's. I would like to add something that no one seems to care about the diversity. Apparently not one poster here mentioned that there are First Nations people in the area who appear to be invisible to hippies, and lets not forget African Canadians who live in Jordan town. How peculiar it is that no one mentioned anyone but white people. I also found it interesting that not one person mentioned a very vibrant french community in the valley. Totally francophone. I get the feeling that a few people here would only like to associate with the white/anglo element rather than ALL the people in the valley.

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by Bi Coastal Girl on 2008-05-07 06:02:51
I was born in Nova Scotia. My family has been here longer than anyone can remember. I had been living in the States for 20 years until I left Marin Co. California a year ago to settle in the Annapolis Valley. We bought a beautiful farm and were quite happy here until our young children started school. The stunningly stringent adherence to bureaucratic dribble by members of the Annapolis Valley School Board, even in the face of emotional devastation suffered by my seven year old son has sullied our experience here. While everyone is nice, not many welcome new comers. I've spoken to many people "from away" ( a local term) who stuck it out. They say it took between 5 and 15 years to be accepted by many locals. I also have concerns about pesticide use. It is liberally applied to the orchards surrounding us. Even educated parents of young children view heavy pesticide use as an acceptable farming practice. Financial considerations weigh heavily here. True there are pockets of forward thinking individuals who pioneer in this beautiful place, but do be careful if you need to involve yourself with more conventional institutions, they are truly conventional here. Sadly we are opting to leave our home here and returning to Marin where it may be a little more crowded but a whole lot more 'open. ' I wish you the best of journeys here and hope that you find a different experience than that of my family and I.

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by Justin on 2008-04-15 15:00:59   My Score:
I stumbled upon this post by accident and read the entire thread with interest. I have several comments I wish to make. I grew up in New Brunswick, lived in Europe and the Middle East, and I have lived in Western and Central Canada. I believe my observations might help a few others get a more realistic view of the Maritimes that than others have posted. In terms of natural beauty, the Maritimes (NB, PEI, NS, NS) are right up there with any of the beautiful parts of the world. The natural beauty is here... where man's hand has been laid the results are less grand. Stewardship of this area by Maritimers has not been particularly good. Extractive and intensive industrial activity has been the cornerstone of most rural communities. And this still dominates local economies --- especially in rural areas where the local mill, mine, or activity are the major employer. Sealing (killing seals using clubs), clear cut forestry, pulp milling, milling, mining (coal, gold, now uranium) and oil and gas extraction are here alive and well here and are not particularly pretty to look at or good for your health if you happen to live near by. Industrial agriculture (pigs, chickens, crops) are here too. Nova Scotia has the highest per capita ownership of All Terrain Vehicles (ATVs) and there has been widespread issues with environmental damage caused by them. Recent legislation changes have done little to curb the problems which are rampant in rural areas of most of the Maritime provinces. Of recent note, high world prices for commodities has meant multinational companies are once again considering mining parts of the Maritimes for uranium, gold, and coal. And remember that even though you own your land, you do not own the mineral rights by Canadian and provincial law. This give full access and rights to others to explore and exploit minerals on your property. Something to seriously consider if you think that moving into the back 40 will guarantee you peace and autonomy... Of particular note about the Annapolis Valley region of NS, is that there is indeed air pollution issues here. Being nestled between 2 mountain ranges (albeit small by real mountain standards) , means that pollution from transportation, pesticide spraying, residential heating does get trapped by thermal inversions. There are smog days in NS in the Annapolis valley where breathign is a hazard if you have respiratory ailments such as asthma (which incidentally is rising at double the national average here), emphasema, or COPD. This has been documented with concern by those that live here and suffer. And cities are not better off. Halifax has the highest per capita level of particulate air pollution in North America thanks to the reliance of coal burning electrical production and industrial activity. Air quality in reality is poor. Remember we are downwind of 60 million people in central North America. However that being said, if you are looking for very inexpensive land or old houses to fix up then outside of the main cities (where populations range from 40K to 300K) there is opportunity. Note that Halifax, Moncton, Fredericton, St. John all have seen housing and land prices double and in some cases triple in the last 7 years, so there are no deals to be had in the cities per se. As for politics and liberalism, you must define your terms. I find that all of the areas of the Maritimes tend to be very resistant to change and do not welcome new ideas of ways. If you consider this quaint, then great, but after a while you realize this predominates local and provincial governments too. This likely comes from the fact that the majority of people in rural settings have little interest in the outside world that they have or will lever visited. The Nova Scotia the term for people from outside is "Come From Away" of CFA. You hear it often. This label is used, although not necessarily always in a derogatory manner, to let you know that they always consider these people as different and of a lower standing in the local community than than those born here. This is a fact of life here. You can live here for 40 years and still be considered CFA. I would not consider rural Noval Scotians, including those in the Annapolis Valley, to be particularly liberal or progressive thinkers. Yes it is true that in the town and cites there are plenty of people with liberal arts degrees, but there is a predominant culture of backwards thinking and defeatism that permeates especially those in rural towns. Like all sweeping proclamations, there are exceptions, but if you really open your eyes and look and listen, I challenge you to disprove my point. You may find a willingness to look the other way if you are into something alternative, or have views that are not considered mainstream, however I do not feel you will find true tolerance in the Maritimes. Maritimers (and Canadians) in general are just often too disinterested to get involved or make a stand. It is not that they subscribe to your viewpoint or support your issue or view. It is often just that they prefer not to challenge people, fact to face and are quite willing to do so behind your back. That all being said there is lots of opportunities to move here and make a fresh start. I am not sure that the Federal Government is welcoming to new immigrants though. Recent scandals in the Immigration Department uncovered abuses of programs that were intended to attract new Immigrants to NS. Immigrants paid $100 000 to "guarantee" a work placement in a local business, related to their interests. It was widely documented how many of them ended up working at local fast food places for minimum wage as their mentorship. The program, to my knowledge, was eliminated. Hundreds of disgruntled new immigrants were taken advantage of in this manner. So be warned it is not all a bed roses here like anywhere else on this planet. Just be prepared for some real hard work and some resistance to your dreams from several angles, but there are opportunities if you look wisely and truely examine yourself... This is my 2 cents worth...

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by Lawrence on 2008-04-08 15:51:07
Hi there Can anyone provide some information on the towns of New Glasgow and Pictou , Nova Scotia ? Are the communities friendy , general lay of the land , attractive ? Are the two towns of a liberal or more conservative attitude ? Cost of land and housing ? I visited the Island ( Nova Scotia ) in 2007 for two weeks and fell in love with the area . Stayed a few days in Halifax , Annapolis Royal , wolfville etc . and really enjoyed the area and friendly people . Need to return this summer to check out the rest of the Island as well as PEI and New Brunswick . Will be taking the train from Oregon to Quebec , down thru New Brunswick to Nova Scotia . Any feedback is greatly appreciated . Thanks .

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by Tom on 2008-03-07 03:59:22
Hi Sue, We just bought 15 acres lakefront on top of a hill at about 300 ft ASL. Heavily wooded, for $25K. 15 minutes from Digby (hospital, WalMart etc). I know there are 2 lakefront lots left. If you want details you can E-mail me at Thomas.Baldwin@pwc.ca and I can send you the cotact.

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by on 2008-02-03 04:33:06
Hi Sue frm NH I've lived in the Annapolis Valley all my life. This is a great place to live and there are definately areas with treed acreage, 24 hour hospitals, vets, no pollution, etc. The Valley itself is nestled in between our North and South mountains where people have had success growing many different crops, such as grapes, hemp, apples, etc. Send me an email at cmeister@eastlink.ca and I can give you more info and answer any other questions you may have.

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by sue from nh usa on 2008-01-21 14:30:57
hello, reading this is all very helpful to me as we need to get out of usa due to all the horrible politics. we would like to move to canada but have a few concerns. we do not want to be near any pollution of any kind, including commercial farms etc, need to be near a 24 hour hospital and also vet for our 3 dogs, want to be in progressive community being i am a musician and partner is artist. looking to be in the mountains/hills on high ground. looking for treed acres and if possible century home or replica.

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by Tom on 2008-01-20 20:55:43
Hi there, Just stumbled across this page and thought that someone might have a bit of guidance for me. My wife and I are mid 40s and have just purchased 15 acres of woodland in Digby County, outside of the reaches of town. Access is by private road, and no electricity or phone lines close. We originally from NS but careers have brought us to Montreal. The idea is that eventually, over the next 10-15 yrs we will be buiding our off the grid, solar - wind self-sustainable retirement home. We will be starting by spending our vacations camping on the property and clearing the dead wood for use in building and then expanding. My question is where can I find out how far I before I need a building permit. Can I , for example, build a "pioneer camp" structure with no utilities up to 200 square feet without a permit. Can I drag a mobile home onto the property to use as a > building etc. I can not seem to find any guidance on this anywhere. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by JULIAN on 2007-04-28 07:44:19
Thanks for posting the information Trevor. My partner and I are heading out to the maritimes this july to investigate land and homes. You mentioned St Andrews in NB. What do you know about St. stephens in NB? Anything at all? thak you Julian

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by rainysaturday on 2007-03-31 03:27:32
Hi: I was really happy to read this review and all the comments that followed. My partner and I are anticipating a trip to NS in Sept 07 to check out the area for a possible move. We are political prisoners of the extreme right here in the States. It is very very sad. My questions is this. I am a veterinarian, and she is a kick-ass craftsman, and I am wondering if there is a shortage or plethora of vets in the NS province. Have any of you ever found yourselves wishing, "Man I wish I didn't have to drive an hour to see my vet." or "Man, I wish my vet wore jeans and birkies instead of this stiff white coat that freaks my dog out." If so, please let me know. Also, we're looking for some places to stay while touring. Any good hostels, b and b's or homeswap info would be much appreciated. Thanks and grreeeaaat forum!

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by Trevor on 2007-03-11 19:25:48   My Score:
Hi Rachael, It is easy to build a sustainable home anywhere in rural Atlantic Canada - the building codes are minimal on the outskirts of towns. That said, there are plenty of old farm houses around with acreage - why not fix up an older home? - it is a lot cheaper to buy a century farmhouse, and fix it up than build a new one from scratch. Please see www.mls.ca In fact, on average, it costs about twice to three times as much to build new than to buy an existing home of similiar size. If you search carefully, you can find a home with acreage in a decent location for under $50,000. You might also want to consider extending your search into the two other neighbouring Maritime Provinces: New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island. In my experience, the following areas are liberal (with a notable left-wing presence): St. Andrews to St. John, Hampton, Sussex (Sussex to a lesser extent, but worth a visit - great health food store and beautiful area), Shediac, and Moncton, New Brunswick. With a strong French influence (although everyone speaks English as well), Shediac and Moncton have consistently voted liberal. Shediac is officially the most left-wing town in the Maritimes with the majority voting for the socialist NDP and liberal parties. Other than the towns I mention, the rest of New Brunswick is more conservative. Prince Edward Island is definitely worth a visit - it has absolutely stunning beaches, and gorgeous old farmsteads going for next to nothing. It has long attracted a newcomer. You should see the review about PEI on this site under hippy havens. It's very accurate. PEI has better funded and more accessible services than rural Nova Scotia with shorter travel distances (the Island is quite compact with everything nearby). You'll be hard pressed to find any extreme or aggressive conservativism in the Canadian Maritimes (you'd have to go out West to Alberta to find a conservativism comparable to southern FL) - even the conservatives in Canada try to make themselves appear liberal, as most Canadians dislike hard conservative politics. For example, in a recent poll, it was revealed that over 80% of Canadians accept some sort of same-sex union with social benefits for gays/lesbians like the rest of Canadians. Any dispute is centred around the word marriage, and even then, a majority accept gay and lesbian marriage. It is a very progressive country (a giant Berkeley in many respects). As to the Annapolis Valley, I wouldn't bother with any towns other than the hamlets bordering Annapolis Royal (summer town) and Wolfville (year-round town). Neighbouring Bear River is also interesting, but not as lively as Annapolis Royal in the summer. Nearby Digby is another thought, but a tad more mainstream than artsy Annapolis Royal. There are tons of Americans throughout the Maritimes. As to the climate, it depends on what you plan to grow. Prince Edward Island, of course, is a very well-known agricultural region famous for its potatoes, blueberries, strawberries, diary, cattle, and grains (in addition to Barley and Alfalfa, a large soy bean market is developing on the Island). PEI is the only province to have regulated a mimimum of a three year crop rotation for sustainability purposes. Many farmers do a four year rotation. Pesticides have also been strictly regulated due to public outcries with most farmers on the Eastern side of the Island using at least IPM strategies. There is a PEI Organic Producers Association. The Annapolis Valley is well-known for its fruit trees, and particularly, it's apples. I am not sure about the farming regulations in the region - you might contact the Ministry of Agriculture in Nova Scotia... The southern part of New Brunswick which I describe above is very well-known for its dairy farms. In terms of plant zones, the coastal areas of the Maritimes range from a 5b to a 6b (with various microclimates that in certain instances, i.e. a sheltered harbour, can result in a 7a). The growing season, at the moment, ranges from May to October (but, climate change noticeably extended the season this past year, and will likely redefine the growing season in the future). If you want more info on plant zones, google "Atlas of Canada" + "plant zones". If you do plan to tour the Maritimes which is very pleasant anytime between June and October, I would suggest that you map out and visit the following places which are not all that far from one another (I list them in no particular order to visit other than geographic proximity): - St. Andrews by the Sea is located right on the border of Maine, and so you might want to start by visiting... - St. Andrew's, St. John, Hampton, Sussex, Moncton (very liberal), Shediac (a very liberal summer town), New Brunswick; - A new bridge connects New Brunswick to PEI... - Central and northeastern Prince Edward Island near the city of Charlottetown (a liberal voting city) - the northeast shore beaches around Greenwich are gorgeous (on www.mls.ca see Charlottetown, Anne's Land, Bays & Dunes, & Hills & Harbours); - A ferry connects Woods Islands, PEI (Hills & Harbours) to Nova Scotia... - Cape Breton Island near Baddeck (a liberal voting area) and Louisburg, Nova Scotia (moderately liberal or very liberal if you compare it to southern Florida), as well as Wolfville, and Annapolis Royal (a summer town - very liberal); - A ferry connects Digby or Yarmouth (near Annapolis Royal) to Maine... All of these areas have liberal voters, and have back-to-the-landers (especially in comparison to Florida which makes eastern Canada seem incredibly liberal). I would not waste your time looking at other towns or areas in the Maritimes - as a leftist, hippy and green, I can say you would be wasting your time. My partner and I did a thorough tour of the Maritimes in search of property, wild spaces, and alternative people. A few other placves... Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia is quite alternative, but its people struggle to get by (but interestingly, it has a LETSystem). Woodstock, New Brunswick is a small, pretty loyalist town with gorgeous old-world character homes and architecture - very New Englandy - but it's not very friendly (worth a brief day visit though, if you are near the friendlier city of Fredericton which like Woodstock has a mix of liberals and small 'c' conservatives). Halifax, Nova Scotia is extremely liberal, and almost always votes for the NDP - next to Moncton, it is the most left-wing city in the Maritimes. It had a large anti-Bush protest when Bush came to Canada. It is also the largest city in the region. Bye the way, if you want relatively temperate weather, then all the above towns are fine (with the exception of Woodstock, Fredericton, and Moncton which have slightly more continental climates as a consequence of being more inland). And, as to safety, most people leave their doors unlocked in the Maritimes (probably because of the 'one for all and all for one' collective philosophy that permeates Atlantic Canada) - the crime rate is lowest in Eastern Canada and rises as you move Westward with British Columbia and the Yukon having the highest rates in the country (with also, in my opinion, the greatest individualism, and visible divisions between the rich and the poor). For peace in nature, Trevor

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by Mark on 2007-02-25 04:10:55
Just moved to Wolfville from Toronto, one of the best moves I have ever made... but have to agree, there are not many good paying jobs for younger people such as myself.

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by Sarahsan on 2007-02-24 17:09:09
My husban and i met on the north montain (Ralf camp ground). and we went traveling together .now we have two daughter and we whant to move back to the valley.We found a place in Shelburne . We are moving in may. My mother inlaw says it is a bad idea because ther is no job in N.S someone tell me that is crap .I now it is not land of opertunaty but come on there must be some thing out there for us right.

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by sarahsan on 2007-02-24 16:57:22
hi if you are kooking to bild green ,stawbale houses are the best low cost bilding and renewable resorses straw. that is the way to go

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by Rachael on 2007-02-03 17:49:22
Thanks for this great info! I am looking at the Annapolis Valley, Greenwood, Wolfville area to buy acerage. I have an organic farm in SoFL and we are looking for a northern spot. How easy is it to build a sustainable home (small) on your property? In FL the building codes are strict and building of any kindincluding green building is really exspensive. Any info on building alternative dwellings or relocating in the area would be much appreicated. Also, can anyone who is native to the area give me a good idea of the weather/growing season info? Much thanks rachael princessrae29@yahoo.com

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by Sharona on 2006-12-21 17:32:11
I am from the Annapolis Valley, and although the area often elects a Conservative MP, the people are very open minded and fair. It seems to me that most people in the Valley are judged by their deeds not by their "category." Now there is not a lot of diversity, and the language is not always PC, but people are generally very welcoming and kind. The current MP for Kings-Hants is openly gay, and he is well liked and the people defend him by citing the good things he has done, and what he wants to do. To be sure, in my view, there are three observable major cultural groups in the Valley. There are the old families who came from either the Acadians, the Scottish, the Planters, the Loyalists, or other smaller periods of immigration. A lot of these old families went back and forth to New England over the years and there are a lot of cultural similaries with the hard working, Protestant Yankees. Many of the people in the Valley can trace their families back to the mid 1700's. Most of these people are Protestants, and many of these are Baptist or United Baptist. Then there are the folks who came due to the Greenwood Airforce Base. This is a melting pot of people from all over Canada. It seems that the only French speaking non-Acadian people in the Valley come via the base. The base also helps a bit with religious diversity as a good portion of some of the Catholic churches in the middle of the Valley come from the base. Then there are the "back to the landers," draft dodgers and hippies who came to the Valley from the States during the 60's and 70's, mostly for cheap land and relative freedom from government. This group found many kindred spirits amoung the left leaning academics at Acadia University (a truly marvelous school) and the farmers/fishermen/woodsmen who make their living from the land and share similar values. There have been some other groups that have come in over the years which really add to the richness of the Valley, for example, Dutch farmers, some British farmers, and a few Maroons and a few people that came via the underground railway. Some have stayed, and some have moved on to other areas. There are great natural food shops, small organic farms, and farmers markets all through the valley. The other great thing are the stands at the farms and by folk's driveways with produce from their gardens, orchards, blueberry & raspberry bushes and maple trees. Often the price is marked and a box is left to take your money on the "honour" system. My Mom had such a box for years and she was never ripped off. Keep your eyes open for signs for fresh eggs - sooooo much better than from a store. Just from the top of my head, there is a great farmer's market in Annapolis Royal on the weekends, you have to try Hennigar's right outside of Wolfville, Scotian Gold for everything apple, and there are good natural food shops in Wolfville and Greenwood. There is a good, but small, music scene. If you ever hear of a meeting of the "Fundy Folk" be sure to go! The Annapolis Valley is a great place, the only sad thing is that there are not many good paying jobs for the younger people. The vast majority of my friends that went to university, from the Valley, now live outside of Nova Scotia (Calgary, Fort McMurray, Montreal, Vancouver, Toronto, Ottawa, various US cities). The ones who stayed went into the family business or largely got low paying jobs. Good luck!

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by Kelly on 2006-04-11 11:54:37   My Score:
It's my first visit to your website. After just a quick browse, I'm really impressed!

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by John on 2005-12-21 05:59:01   My Score:
Re. Vegan: Yes, many vegans - try Bear River or better yet artsy Annapolis Royal, NS where there is a great health food store.

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by Mary on 2005-10-23 01:58:47   My Score:
Bev, Best to travel around the Annapolis Valley and see for yourself - the whole region is starting to draw attention from the alternative community in Canada. It's a dreamy, peaceful place. See www.mls.ca Mary

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by Alastair on 2005-08-23 22:32:59   My Score:
I feel the vibe man, I live here. Wolfville is one of the hippist towns in the reigon, great arts culture, very open-minded people

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by Bev on 2005-08-04 22:54:35
What about little towns in the interior of Annapolis County? What's the funky/organic/liberal quotient there? There are inexpensive properties around places like Springfield and I'm wondering if we'd fit in.

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by rivera on 2005-07-19 02:30:47   My Score:
i lived in the valley for 11 years.(best place ever) but i recently moved to ontario (work) every minute i'm here i'm missing the sea and the farm lands. n.s your always in my heart. i know on day i'll be comming back. :)

Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Posted by Michelle on 2005-03-02 01:50:32   My Score:
Nova Scotia is amazing... I live in the valley and it is so pretty. If you ever have the chance to visit, do it!!!!