Welcome to Hippyland!

* Home of the Hippies *

Main Menu
Survey
Do You Support the Occupy Movement Protests?

Yes!
No!
Not Sure



Results | Polls
Search


Random Headlines

Drugs
[ Drugs ]

·Cannabis in Alchemical Literature
·A Call to Elder Stoners: Your Job has Just Begun
·From the Novel, FLASHBACKS THROUGH A PURPLE HAZE
·Woodstock Was Not Stoned on Starbucks
·We're Losing the Drug War Because Prohibition Never Works
·Amsterdam Coffeeshops and Cannabis
·Amsterdam Coffeeshops - Ratings and Reviews
·Largest Single Raid In DEA History Goes Away
·Supreme Court Vs. Medical Marijuana Users
Categories Menu
· A Trip Thru the '60s
·
Archives
·
Ask The Old Hippy
·
Columns
·
Hip Profiles
·
Hippies From A to Z
·
Hippyland Tour
·
Interviews
·
Letters to Hippyland
·
Links
·
News
·
Reviews
·
Skip's Corner
· The Seeds
· Light Years: an Anthology (Multimedia in the East Village, 1960-1966)
· The Fundamental difference between King Crimson and the Brit Prog Cartel
· Blackburn & Snow
· Billy Fay
· Michael Chapman
· Jimmie Spheeris
· Bram Stoker (Prog Band)
· Robert Plant & his Band Of Joy
· Loving Awareness
New Articles
· How Saving Water Helps Reduce Global Warming
· Cannabis in Alchemical Literature
· A Call to Elder Stoners: Your Job has Just Begun
· UN, Natives And Hippies Unite To Save The World
· The Beyond Prohibition Foundation

[ More in News Section ]
 

Cape Girardeau, Missouri

Very cool riverfront nights, locals are kind, small communes everywhere very green year round, local music scene is huge.

Added: December 8th 2001
Category: Place
Location: Missouri

Hits: 11079

  
[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Posted by bobby9302 on 2013-01-25 04:13:55
Hey ppl.. Like many of u I am a SEMO student who just moved about six months ago from the STL. I find the area to be alright, but I cannot seem to find many "hippy" types around these parts. I would love nothing more than to pass around a bowl with some ppl who share my interests... I need some smoking buddies lol. I know im gonna catch a shitload of flak for this post, but idc. Anyone in cape down, or know where the local hippies hang out... aside from hempies, PM me.


Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Posted by littlefoot on 2012-06-14 02:22:46
I've been living in Cape, going to SEMO and I thought it sucked too until I met some of these hippies. The hippies hangout at the river and have bonfires almost every night, and the music scene is at that one bar right next to pacific with the leaf foot every wednesday night.

Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Posted by Springfield Hemp Fest on 2011-07-14 18:29:54   My Score:
Theres gonna be a huge hemp fest in springfield mo! http://springfieldhempfest.com/  http://www.facebook.com/springfieldhempfest

Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Posted by Whitney on 2010-04-02 23:29:09
Hey this is Tie~Dyed Flashbacks, we sell anything tie dye and hemp jewelry. You WONT find it cheaper anywhere! Check us out at www.myspace.com/tiedyedflashbacks

Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Posted by Just Me on 2010-03-22 17:38:38
I just moved to Cape recently. Originally from Mississippi, I have lived in Las Vegas, Nevada...Worcester, Massachusetts, and Dallas, Texas. I have also visited many other states. Of all the places I have been, I find the people here in Cape Girardeau the friendliest. The town is small but Historic. No, there is not alot to do (depending on what you are into). However, I suggest if its alot of music you want to experience, go to Memphis, New Orleans, or just a big ass city. If its a town that never sleeps, drugs, parties, and rock and roll...Go to Vegas!! I hate to hear anyone bitch about where they live..If ya dont like it here or where ever it may be that you are...MOVE! Otherwise quit your bitching.

Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Posted by David on 2010-01-20 22:17:08
Honestly I like Cape. I go to SEMO and the downtown area at night is awesome. If you don't have a place or car to smoke, you can just walk down the streets downtown and light up a bowl as long as you're just careful around cars. I just like the town in general let alone it's easy to smoke here.

Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Posted by ToSha on 2008-04-24 20:41:08   My Score:
All i gotta say couldnt have made my 420 any better! For sure first time i'v been and it's sweet as fuck! I will definitly be coming back fo some more purchases!! Everything i got was amazing and quite satisfying...

Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Posted by SEMOdrew on 2008-02-23 05:36:40   My Score:
umm... wherever the "green" and "hippie communies" and "huge music scene" are, they've avoided my glance. I live in Cape and go to school here, and as for anyone who says Cape (or Jackson? for that matter) is awesome... you've never been to a real town. Cape SUCKS! Southeast Missouri State is pretty cool, and the head shop Hempies is alrigt, but other than that it's a bunch of Christian Right hicks and old-ass falling apart buildings. The locals are weird, and there is literally no music scene at all. I guess you could come here and get wasted, but that's about all there is to do. As for the poster who said good things about Jackson (5 miles away, not 30)... are you blind? Jackson is without a doubt, literally, the crappiest excuse for a town I've ever had the misfortune of accidentally going to. There is nothing in Jackson... nothing at all.

Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Posted by Nikki on 2007-10-28 21:40:17
Dude where in Cape did you say you were from? Jackson 30 miles from Cape I don't think so in fact I know so .It is 6 miles from Cape and it takes all of 6 min to get there. I think there are a lot of faggott posers on here acting like they are from Cape because no one here knows squat about it except the drug laws are off the chain!! You will go to jail withoout passing go for the smallest amount of pot! Pot should be legal it doestn't hurt anybody!! I love it I tell you!! Oh yeah and if there is a hippy commune in Cape where is it? Oh and if theres any fags on here and I hurt your feelings.....shouldn't be a faggott!! HE hE HE or she she she lmao

Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Posted by Jup on 2007-09-10 21:05:17   My Score:
Thies review is a perfect example of peoples wanting to keep the most hush-hush for themselves...I'd like to check it out-something smells me like a flock too come??

Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Posted by agoodbuzzdude on 2007-07-30 20:59:32
To: Flame and Flicker I find it hard to beleive that you have ever lived in Cape Girardeau because frankly, yo don't know what the hell your talking about. Cape is a wonderful town and should be recognized as such. The people are pleasant and the town is beautiful. The river really does turn one thousand tales at Cape Girardeau. P.S. You need to go back to geography because Jackson is only a Whopping 8 mies from Cape.

Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Posted by Jerry66 on 2007-07-18 22:02:31
Oh yes! Cape definately SUCKS. It is full of Christian Conservative Bigots! There are nothing but Rich, Selfish, and Small-minded Yuppies! Do yourself and friends and favor! Stay away from Cape Girardeau, Missouri!

Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Posted by pot smoker on 2007-02-24 23:50:17
i'm reply to the person who said if your an older hippie you should live in jackson.you damn near got to be million to live there the house are so damn high.and they said she wants to move out of cape fuck that cape is fucking awsum.i was born there and live there.i lived in alot of places in this country and i was come back.I GOT CAPE PRIDE RATHER I'M HERE ARE RATHER I'M NOT.CAPE IS THE BEST TOWN IN THIS COUNTRY

Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Posted by hippieraver on 2006-02-07 15:37:52   My Score:
Ive lived in Cape for 4 years and the one thing about it, is its love to drink, party, and dance. Yet i have only seen a 1/4 be very spirtual, And it is not green all year round (Some tmes it snows):< True love comes within not from a poser

Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Posted by delight on 2006-01-29 04:00:17
Never been to this town in Missouri, but what about hippies in Iowa? Maybe Ames or Iowa City....both college towns with some tie-dye shops, vegetarian restaurants. Am I right?

Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Posted by Laura on 2005-11-11 23:44:01
up at the top it says "Very cool riverfront nights, locals are kind, small communes everywhere very green year round, local music scene is huge" HOLY CRAP Since when did this all happen?!?!?

Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Posted by schwaggerz on 2005-09-22 20:23:44
We are looking for Schwag like get aways.

Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Posted by Flame and Flicker on 2005-09-04 07:03:55
I grew up in cape and am in the process of moving completely out of Missouri. Cape is full of Babylons and there isn't much there but a headshop called hempies and the trail of tears. The country hicks would hang you rather than understand you, don't get me wrong my whole family lives there but most of them don't even understand me. I refuse to let my son be brought up in this state, let alone Cape. If you are an older hippy though Jackson is quiet nice and only about thirty miles away. The older population is a sweet as can be and even if you are a little out of the box they will smile and wave. Cost of living in Jackson is realitively cheat and the parks are beautiful. So my final opinion is stay away from Cape as much as possible and enjoy Jackson. Love'n you.

Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Posted by Smoke & Ash on 2005-04-22 16:39:17   My Score:
Fuckin Cape is awesome. I love this place, anyone who says different is a stupid-head!!! I love pot!!

Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Posted by Jenny in Australia on 2004-08-19 16:22:11
Hi I am trying to locate LAURA SPIES. I have tried sending something to her address in Cape Girardeau, MO 63701, USA, but the letter was returned to my address here in Australia. If anyone possibly knows her, could you please ask her to contact me: ynnej@graffiti.net

Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Posted by nogreen4me on 2004-07-08 00:06:45   My Score:
Cape sucks!! It used to be a cool place but not anymore. I have been here since 90 and have a small business here. The poster is sure right about getting caught with any amount of drugs. Recently, a customer of mine was busted for drugs and apparently he told them I was a customer of his and a dealer, so the pigs raided my shop the next day, handcuffed me and searched my store. THEY FOUND NOTHING!! (there was nothing) The main cop told me if they were wrong he would be the first to apologize, but guess what, that MF uncuffed me and practically vanished while the others were leaving. The bar scene is packed with undercover cops and snitches too, so be careful! A friend of mine was busted awhile back and all they found was some stems and seeds but that was enough to get him a $700 fine and two years supervised probation. (first conviction) What a great town, if it wasn't for my friends and family I would blow out of here!

Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Posted by Earl Roper on 2004-01-20 02:57:50
This post is a lie, and only stupid hippies would believe it. The music scene is almost nonexistant (1 bar has original music a couple nights a week and is a gay bar the rest of the week). The only decent bands in the area are Squadcar (rock/punk) and Steerjockey (punk/rock). There was once a good music and nightlife scene here but is now long gone. Oh and BTW, if you get caught with ANY amount of weed or any other illegal drugs you WILL go to jail, directly to jail and unless you tell on about 6-7 other people you will be there for some time.

Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Posted by Lindsay on 2003-12-09 14:08:55
I had an idea.. to embark on a solitary journey of the mind and spirit.. the idea was to find a shelter where no one would be able to contact me.. no phone, no computer, nothing but my music, books, art supplies, and food. I would stay in this space for no less than two months, during which time I would experiment, and hopefully master, various spiritual and mental practices.. however, this is no longer merely an idea.. this has become imperative for my growth, I can feel it.. so I was wondering if any of you have done this before.. and if so, if anyone could offer some suggestions as to where to look to find such a place to hide away for awhile.. OR, if anyone has a guest house perhaps.. or some place that I could rent out for a couple months, I would be more than happy to discuss some sort of payment for your help and cooperation. If anyone can help, please email me at Etherealiss@hotmail.com. I look forward to hearing from someone. Peace and Love.

Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Posted by acidrain@hipplanet.com on 2003-02-23 22:28:18   My Score:
I need directions to the communes near the cape. I would love to live in a commune with fellow hippies.

Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Posted by nary adime@netscape.com on 2002-10-27 13:31:11
how do i get to the hippy comune near the cape

Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Posted by Sapphire on 2002-03-01 12:43:15   My Score:
Hey Cape is awesome....metal bands are the scene there....like Polyduster and Tribaldust....come see them at the metalfest in May