Welcome to Hippyland!

* Home of the Hippies *

 

Bisbee, Arizona

This small community really flourished when the mining-company which owned the town bailed out in the mid-seventies and hippies from all over moved in. There is a great community here, with a co-op and lots of hippy artists living out in the desert. Check it out for yourself! Have a brew and a few games of nine ball at the Bisbee Grand, or play hacky sack in the grassy park in front of the mining museum right in downtown.

Added: December 8th 2001
Category: Place
Location: Arizona

Hits: 26925

  
[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by Anonymous on 2014-04-24 01:12:35

anyone remember Susan Braum?

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by budsinbloom on 2013-08-25 20:32:15
I have lived in Ol Bisbee, AZ for 20 years now.  When I first moved to Bisbee there were so many nice friendly people.   The artists and poets were still here.  The underground counter-culture was accepting of everyone.  It was so comfortable and wonderful.  The town changed when the real estate boom started.  People from California and Phoenix started to buy up the run down and relatively cheap homes to fix up and sell quickly to cash in.  That started the change.  Old Bisbee  began to change.  The artists left.  The retail shops stopped carrying local art and began carrying junk.  A culture clash has emerged.  It is not nice and there is much hatred.  Bisbee is now in limbo among the overpriced fixer upper homes which aren't selling and the fact that there is no industry to bring people here with disposable income to help the town grow.  Bisbee is stuck and it is not getting any better.  It was interesting to read what tourists have noticed because they are spot on.  There is not a good feeling growing here among the people.

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by Original wrapper on 2013-01-07 20:39:54
Nope, strongly disagree on recommendations for Bisbee. I lived there for a winter 33 years ago, and just spent the last three months checking it out again. It's gone -- the place is now a completely overpriced enclave of trustafarian pseudo-cool and retail opportunists. The absorption of Bisbee into the upscaling of the west is probably one of the most heartbreaking things I've ever seen.

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by queenie on 2012-05-24 21:00:28
I have been visiting Bisbee for over 50yrs every summer. I have to say that it has changed and not for the best. I speak primarily of Brewry Gulch. I remember wallking down town because my grandparents live up in Zacatecas. What I saw disturbed me. It used to be safe. Now I see someone living in one of the old mines, property has been fenced off, so you can only take walks so far. But the most that bothered me was the the so called "art" by the stores. I found it discusting. Skull paintings, devil signs. It was totally demonic. It's very sad, because when tourists the stop and walk thru I'm sure find it wierd. I'd like to say that it NEVER! was like this before. I hope that the city will put back some of the old mining memorabilia soon because I used to love it there. Right now I have no desire to walk there.

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by cpyle on 2011-12-31 00:32:48   My Score:
I need information where would you stay if you were traveling through?

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by Reddfox on 2011-05-22 15:27:23   My Score:
This is for Dylan Williams.  I used to have a beautiful friend that lived in Bisbee.  He had 3 children and one was named Dylan.  He is now deceased and it has 27 years since he has passed and I always wondered to myself...How are his children, who have they become, are they married, do they have kids...Did they know what a wonderful person inside their dad really was.  I knew him since he was 11 years old and he was my first sweetie.  Just a fleeting moment of past memories and was wondering if you were his Dylan?


Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by jake on 2011-04-08 02:37:56
I'm a musician from Atlanta Ga. I find myself in Southwest NM and I've had pretty good luck finding music work in some small towns. Is there any music work for traveling musicians in Bisbee? Bars, Markets, etc?

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by wayne on 2009-12-29 17:32:54
Any jobs ? How is it as far as raising a family what is the average rent $ a month. I am looking for a slow pace town to move my family .Are the houses expensive .Just trying to get some information.By it being only 7 miles from Mex are there a lot of problems . How far from hospitals and stores? Thanks Wayne W.DAY1963@COMCAST.NET My back ground is in Maintenace,hotels-Industral Any help would be thank ful.

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by steve on 2009-12-01 21:14:52
are there any good looking single women out in Bisbee, are any of the Nurses at the hospital single and good looking concern - if I relocate and move to Bisbee from the San Francisco Bay Area - will I learn to love it or learn to hate it. or will the women there make me want to return and stay there thanks

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by Marla on 2009-11-01 20:24:32
Keep your dirty, lazy hippies in your own town. Bisbee is moving beyond the hippie scum. There are still a few scammer hippies in town involved in grant scams and hopefully they will get busted.

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by Helm on 2009-05-29 20:25:21
Hello there. I'd be interested in speaking to anyone who grew up in Bisbee, went to elem school, high school....

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by kendra on 2009-03-16 23:10:03
looking for Janey from Kentucky...mom of B. & J... sri ram..or klondyke ...

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by Dick Army on 2009-01-12 23:33:20   My Score:
My main gripe about the town is the aggressive panhandling that I saw this past weekend. Four older ladies repeatedly asked for a dollar and when one lady declined the teenager replied, "come on, I know you can afford it, "I know you have a dollar." He even slurred a nasty comment after the ladies walked away. I am all for living your life the way you want, but why should a handout be expected? The transient element is a definite turn off for a lot of people. Had a knife pulled on me two summers ago in the park down from Elmo's in the afternoon with families around by some younger guy who looked homeless. I still go there a couple times a year, but wonder how it will ever survive if visitors are treated and exposed to this type of behavior. For me, I am well traveled and have seen a lot worse, so I will always go back, but for many others it would be a turnoff. I know how tourism can hurt a small city, but it also brings in cash, which as of this past weekend with all the artist shops closing, is much needed.

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by az resident on 2008-10-24 03:12:18
I've grown up in this state and have been to Bisbee several times but not in the last 11 years and I have to say it was dead back then with a very small population were does Bisbee get off even considering itself a hippie town?

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by Skye on 2008-09-02 17:40:09   My Score:
I just wanted to add something. I am Bisbee Baby. Born and raised in OB and it was the most incredible place to grow. Between art festivals, bicycle races, and everyday craziness. Bisbee was the coolest place to be. Sadly though things changed. Old timers died and newcomers change things, and what was a awesome little town becomes good old memories. I miss Old Bisbee but know as with everything it will never be the same. Only a few of the originals are around like Bear and Patty and I send them my love. It is still one of the coolest places on earth but now more for it's buildings and my family's history in the place. Definitely worth visiting.I know I can't wait to visit my home again soon.

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by BlackfeetBoy on 2008-05-21 21:40:23
I grew up in Phoenix, and made lots of weekend excursions to Bisbee as a teenager. My mother lives in Hereford, so I'm around there a-bit. My wife loves Bisbee wants to move there when I'm done with Grad school (Next Year.) As much time as I've spent there, I'm not a resident, so I'd like to hear some comments about daily life. Anything, $$$$, social life, communities. I'm a Burner, so alternative lifestyles (whatever that means) don't faze me.

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by shawna on 2007-11-09 15:08:54
say hi to patty and bear for me! anyone who reads this and lives in Bisbee...i miss the place shawna_r_hannam@yahoo.ca

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by Bissrieli Bob on 2007-10-13 03:44:38
There are aliens inside Bucky O'Neil, don't climb that mountain.

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by Ryan on 2007-05-31 19:59:48
I moved to Bisbee in 2003 after growing up - and living in Tucson. I have to say - I'm VERY glad I moved when I did - because the real-estate market went through the roof! As to all of those who think Bisbee is a great place but you wouldn't want to live there - good - more for me. Actualy Bisbee is two towns. Quiet old mining town Monday-Thursday - and wild haven for fun Friday-Sunday. The bars are hopping in the gulch after 5pm - with live bands, art events down town, and the occasional special festival. But once Sunday afternoon rolls around - back to quiet quant and boring. And I love it like that....

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by tohbi on 2007-05-23 18:15:02
bisbee is just about over. it's kinda sad when the "straights" talk about the "hippies" in bisbee, as if "hippies" are creatures in a zoo, kept to entertain their constipated little minds. hippies are just the superficial appearance of the artist community that made bisbee special after the mine closed. creative artists made the bisbee that the straights love. then, they try to destroy it. mining towns have the money to build substantial structures. bisbee was a wealthy town a century ago and the buildings represent it, but it was the artist community that was seeking cheap rent and studio space that made the town a vibrant and creative place. now that the outisde world has discovered it, narrow-minded retirees and businessmen are moving in, exploding the costs of living there, and driving out the creative element. i've seen it happen in santa fe, scottsdale, jerome, prescott, taos, and aspen. it's always the same; artists make a creative and interesting milieu, tourists show up to watch them, busnesses prey on the tourists and, soon, the artists can't afford to live there. yeah, arresting granpa woodstock for simply being a "hippie" showed the writing on the wall. when i finish my latest novel, i'll be moving on, hopefully to the next artists' community. too bad. bisbee was great while it lasted.

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by Becca on 2007-03-28 08:19:32   My Score:
I lived in Bisbee for a year while my husband was deployed, and while MANY of the people and places were wonderful, there were also the backstabbers and just plain rude people, as there are in every town/city in the US. I love the culture, the sounds and sights of the town. As long as you are accepting to them, they will accept you. There are those that have been burned by people, of course, so they are more wary. But, given the choice, I would return to Bisbee in a HEARTBEAT. My memories include the smell of the rain (and ANYONE who has been there for a storm knows what I am talking about) watching deer and javelina from my back porch at night. I love it, and the only reason I gave it an 8 rather than a 10 is because there are the intolerant people who live there, and if you prove yourself to be "too much like the locals" they will make your life a living hell. If nothing else, go and visit, and decide for yourselves. Have a great day!

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by Barb on 2007-03-27 08:49:58
Thinking of moving to Bisbee -- I'm 58, looking for an "alternative" kind of place. Specifically, women who might provide a support system, I'm moving from Michigan and looking for a place to rest my "alternative" weary bones.

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by Rachel on 2006-11-01 07:40:17
I think it's a crack up that anyone from Scottsdale, the most "plastic fantastic" place on the planet - would put down Bisbee- it doesn't get any lower than that place! The whole Phoenix area is utterly discusting it's like a giant dirty diaper roasting in the sun!

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by Dickie on 2006-03-28 20:47:50   My Score:
I moved here to Scottsdale from California a few years ago. I kept hearing someone at work talk about what a nice town Bisbee is, so I decided to drive there on a weekend and check it out. Man what a boring little crap hole! I don't understand how anyone could want to live there. I've been all around the world and Bisbee is pretty much the most boring place I've seen. It might be okay for a quick drive through visit, but staying more than half an hour is pointless.

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by miss m in los skandoulous on 2006-03-06 22:37:59
shit i fuckin love it there i lived there for over 12 yrs,im goin home after i visit hawaii,bisbee is home 4 me,even though i was born in oregon.i know everyone there that matters and i miss it!any one know where dylan is and how to get a hold of marshal and kathrin.

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by Mango Steve on 2006-02-22 04:43:31   My Score:
To the many reviewers of Bisbee, 80% of you got it right.... there is something very special about Bisbee. I enjoyed five years there, and still visit regularly. But don't take anybody's word for it. Many with rave reviews seem to have experienced only a part of Bisbee's charm. Those with negative reviews seem to have experienced even less. See for yourself ... "Are you experienced?" = Jimi Hendrix

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by Hipppy i n need. on 2006-01-10 22:54:50
hey guys well i'm interested in moving on to another great adventure, there are two of us, me and my lovely lady, will work trade.... need a place to go....handy guy know alot about construction and learning how to garden....if u know of anything email me at chfn247@yahoo.com

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by Luna Crow and Eagle on 2006-01-07 02:30:19
Hello Bisbee! We are a couple of elders from Takilma, Oregon headed your way in a volkswagon van. We need to get some new teeth in Mexico and are looking for a place to rent (a room,cottage or whatever??) for approximately one month. We have our beloved dog traveling companion but in a pinch we could leave her at home. We would like to travel approximately mid January to mid February. You can reach us at wolfaccess@aol.com or telephone (541) 592-6388. Love and Gratitude!

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by Luna Crow and Eagle on 2006-01-07 02:28:29
Hello Bisbee! We are a couple of elders from Takilma, Oregon headed your way in a volkswagon van. We need to get some new teeth in Mexico and are looking for a place to rent (a room,cottage or whatever??) for approximately one month. We have our beloved dog traveling companion but in a pinch we could leave her at home. We would like to travel approximately mid January to mid February. You can reach us at wolfaccess@aol.com or telephone (541) 592-6388. Love and Gratitude!

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by scoop on 2005-10-07 20:43:47
jennifer of reflectingwaves. contact atalanta book store.

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by DIANNA on 2005-08-25 21:28:56   My Score:
DYLAN SORRY I FORGOT HOW TO SPELL YOUR NAME.... ; )

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by DIANNA on 2005-08-25 21:27:58   My Score:
HIYA DILLON IS THAT YOU ..???? THIS IS DIANNA REMEMBER ME & JOHN WE USE TO LIVE IN YOU GRAMS APPARTMENTS WHEN YOU WERE A LITTLE KID.!!! HOWS YOUR GRAND MA DID SHE MOVE TO MEXICO..??? SO DILLION WERE DID YOU GO .??? I HAVE NOT SEEN YOU AROUND BISBEE LATELY...?? WELL I HOPE YOU ARE OK AND DOING WELL. WERE IS THE BIG BIRD...?? WE ARE STILL IN BISBEE WE BOUGHT A LITTLE PLACE AND LOVE IT HERE BISBEE THE BEST TOWN IN THE U.S.

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by Dylan Williams on 2005-07-07 23:16:21   My Score:
Hi, I grew up in bisbee. I have been away for five years now. I miss the small town mentality. I have never considered anywhere else to be home. The community is a great place to live. The one thing that I have always admired there is that, no matter what their differences the peole in that town manage to always come together to overcome anything that could threaten their way of living. I miss home!

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by jim on 2005-05-13 22:57:22
I lived in Bisbee in 2000, and enjoyed it. I was only there for about 6 months. The people are friendly, but I felt like an outsider much of the time. The beauty of the city was awesome, and taking long walks was a fun experience. As you might imagine, there isn't much to do there, they roll up the sidewalks at 5pm, but then thats your typical small town. Bring some money, because there aren't any jobs. My favorite hangout was Elmo's. I left because I missed making a decent salary. If your ok with being broke, and just hanging out then bisbee is for you.

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by Chase on 2005-02-28 08:26:33   My Score:
I spent a while here this place is greatI loved it and I wish i could go back every day i meet some great people here there is always somthiing to do there is some of the best smoke around and its cheap u just have to know where to look for it the people are great I truly felt welcome there there were only a few dueshbags. I MISS YOU BISBEE IL BE BACK SOON.

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by James on 2004-11-21 17:07:55
Spent 6 months in Bisbee recently. It's a unique place and if you manage to find some people you can fit in with it's OK, but if not it's very easy to feel like a permanet outsider. Cliquish artist types. The place is developing and will be experiencing a real estate boom once they get a new sewer system and the building moritorium is lifted. Carl, who ran the Earwig Factory left for Tucson. Grampa Woodstock got thrown in jail. Pot is low grade mexican though cheap. Rents are too steep for what you get. Everything seems to be for sale or in transition. Perhaps I just didn't fit in but 6 months was enough for me. It's a great place to spend a weekend and the climate is wonderful. Everyone who visits say they want to move there. First impressions you know... Worth a visit to check it out. St. Elmo's in the Gulch is the best deal on beer and is the low rent type hang-out. Halloween in Bisbee is too cool, I have to give it that. James

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by artheart on 2004-10-10 16:49:28
If you are looking for a place which smiles in your face and all the time wants to stab you in the back while trying to get every penny out of you...... then move to Bisbee, Arizona. There you will find out what is means to live, work and play in a "Quirky" environment which honors, praises and even encourages hate and corruption.

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by John Becker - teacher on 2004-06-13 20:51:15   My Score:
Bisbee ties with Amsterdam as the best place I have ever been in the world, hippie or no. I lived there for six months and have since lived in Washington, DC, New York, NY, and Madison, WI. Each of these have their advantages, but Bisbee is the best!

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by Cpt. Grady USMC (Ret.) on 2004-05-20 03:55:51   My Score:
All I know, is Bisbee is amazing. The rich history, the freedom, and the culture all make Bisbee an amazing town. I moved there after my life in the city, and I love the small towns now. The arts and crafts community, (if a bit strange at first) are excellent, and people truely appriciate the arts. There is a metal works shop called "Metalmorphasis" here, and they make everything from small light switch covers, to giant dinosaur skeletons. I rate Bisbee as an amazing place to retire.

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by Zane on 2004-05-09 19:10:31   My Score:
I recently moved to Bisbee. I had been living in San Diego for the past 12 years and spent my last few years there in Ocean Beach. I loved the hippie element in OB and when forced out by the high prices and police dominance, I looked for a better place to be. I found Bisbee through an online search for "hippie friendly places to live". Three days after being in Bisbee, I bought my first home. It was a little tough getting used to the different pace of life here and the colder winter, but now I am aclimated and I love it. The people are very tolerant (for the most part). I have been able to slowly drop the barriers I had put up while living in California and I feel liberated. I'm not one to fly a "freak flag" to begin with, but I don't feel that I couldn't if I wanted to. Many of my friends here are the "freaks" by some standards. I love them and they love and accept me for being me. That is what I was looking for and I'm glad that I found Bisbee.

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by Timetraveler on 2004-01-26 08:11:57   My Score:
When you come down the grade from Mule Pass tunnel and enter the town of Bisbee from the Tombstone direction, you get a great first-impression of a unique old mining town that is pasted to the sides of a beautiful close canyon. After the mining at the Lavender Pit and below-ground sites petered out in the 60s and 70s, Bisbee began the death crawl towards "ghost town" status on a Rand McNally. But, Bisbee refused to go quietly into that sweet night. Personally I give credit for her survival to the Hippie minded people who lived or moved there during that same period. Many old dwellings fell to ruin or were arsoned, but slowly creative new blood was infused into the town over a period of several years, building on a foundation of artisans, cafe and coffee shop owners, antique peddlers, and unique shop owners. Bed and Breakfast places were up-graded or established, and all with a flavor that was very fitting with such a town, nothing overly gaudy. It's that part that makes Bisbee a comfortable place to visit or even stay. The small grassy area in front of the Mining Museum is the parochial clearing house for local teens to hang out at, for hippie types to stretch out on on a warm day, or for crafts people to set up makeshift showrooms for their wares. Brewery Gulch has great places to have an ice cream on the sidewalk or a beer with a decent live band. In winter you find people and their backpacks in front of cafes and coffee houses. Bisbee isn't set up to handle a lot of transient traffic, and the class of people the town seeks to attract may not be the kind who might be reading this. Bisbee seems to ride the border between what I call California Kitsch and old town rough-n-ready. Whatever it is, it works. I go to Bisbee to relax and get away. It's slow paced and fun, but more artisan than Hippie. Great destination for bikers, cyclists, and anyone that likes a taste of an old town (Young Guns II had a scene shot in Brewery Gulch). Once upon a time Bisbee was choice for Hippies, but the rent has gone up and they now use Hendrix in car commercials. Still, Bisbee's cool...check it out!

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by Greenwolf on 2004-01-08 17:06:32   My Score:
I agree with Dallas, "hide your freak flag" in Bisbee! Have you ever heard of the trouble that Grandpa Woodstock had in Bisbee? The Bisbee merchants called him a "public nuisance" for simply waving his freak flag and protesting for peace! So much for the days of hippie loving Bisbee!Like just about everywhere else in Arizona, Bisbee has become very commercial and yuppie, mainly focusing on the tourist industry. On the plus side (yes, there is a plus side) Bisbee is physically a uniquely structured town where there is simply no other place quite like it (at least in Arizona). In addition, Bisbee does have some of the most distinctive antique shops around. So Bisbee is an ok day trip but I certainly would not call it a "hippie haven" or even dream of living there.

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by Dallas on 2003-12-24 02:45:37   My Score:
Bisbee is okay but like everywhere else, don't stand out too much. ya know, keep your freak flag in your pocket, and if you're gonna stay learn some Spanish, after all it's only seven miles from Mexico.

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by paul on 2003-10-15 01:30:19
never been there (yet), but what's an "earwig factory?"

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by kelly! on 2003-04-20 00:03:19   My Score:
Two words for anyone going to Bisbee: EARWIG FACTORY

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by Silver on 2002-11-10 13:53:52   My Score:
I found Bisbee in the 70's...Theres quite a diverse group of interesting people..always something going on. Many non-conformists..you can be whoever you choose to be in Bisbee, the TOWN TOO HIGH TO CARE..

Bisbee, Arizona
Posted by Jynxchat_3@hotmail.com on 2002-05-31 13:38:15   My Score:
How do we contact you.....!??!